Newbie: Quicktime vs. Flash and other questions

Q&A about the latest versions
JeffN

Hello All.
I'm a newbie here. First time posting, and just getting my feet wet on this Object movie stuff. I downloaded Object2VR and am doing some practice and and testing before I by the license. At this point everything we are using for turntables are home made, simple manual turntables. As I get some samples I'll post them in the existing thread requesting samples.

I'm sure I'll have lots of questions. I've read most of the posting so far to educate myself as best as I can.

First question:
Is there a preference out there as to outputting to Quicktime or Flash. Any advantages to one over the other?

2) I outputted a Object move to Quicktime. Set it to Start with auto rotation. So far so good. Object starts rotating when it loads, when I click on it I can manually rotate it. But is there a way to make it start rotating again by it's self?

3) I saw something about "skins". I think it was in the short tutorial for Object2VR. What is that all about? Is there some place where I can get more info / how to on "skins"?
BTW, at the start of the tutorial the gal mentioned that this was a quick intro / preliminary tutorial and more "in-depth" tutorials would be coming. Anybody heard when? It was a very helpful tutorial, and gave me a good start. But it would be nice to know what all can be done with Object movies.

Thanks for the help.
JeffN
360Texas

Hi JeffN, welcome to the forum.

Not to worry about home made equipment. I would suspect 90% of forum folks created their own object equipment.

Our personal preference is Flash because it allows the use of skin files. Skins are overlay layers containing buttons < > + - buttons and items that help the visitor view the object. Qucktime does not use skin overlays.