Custom Markers on Map - BUG?

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
Arnie
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 4:27 pm

Custom Markers on Map - BUG?

Post by Arnie » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:24 pm

Most Tours I create are starting with a screen filling map rather than a Virtual Image.
I created a set of markers that are used depending on Tags.
All theses markers are placed in a container. I linked - Clone as Marker - in the Map Tab to this container what works with no problems.

Just at the start of the tour, when the tour/map has finished loading the markers are not shown. Moving the mouse over the area where the marker should be, the courser changes to a hand, meaning the marker is there but the graphic doesn't work.
Ones you do any action to the map like dragging or zoom in/out or selecting another VR images from the thumbnail list the markers suddenly appear.
I tried to avoid the use of a "marker container" thinking that this might be the problem and instead using a main marker with child markers and controlling the display by using logic blocks, but I found out that the child markers show the same behavior than the markers in a container - they don't show till you move the map.

This happen locally when using the Open Output button in Pano2VR after generating the output. But when you generate the output and then refresh the browser window instead of opening a new browser using the Open Output button the markers are displayed at the start!

When published the tour the problem accrues in

Firefox:
when visiting the tour the first time. If you refresh the browser the markers showing at the start of the tour. Only after clearing the browser cache the marker disappear again when opening the tour.

Google Chrome:
all the time, no need to clear the cache, just refresh and they are gone again.

Internet Explorer:
It is hard to believe but the markers showing every time - no problems here.

I also should mention that all type of markers - Image, rectangle, textbox and also popup node image having the problem.

Here is the link to a tour: http://australianlandscape.com.au/

I hope someone can help me and has an idea why this is happening.

Thanks Arnie

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Custom Markers on Map - BUG?

Post by Hopki » Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:34 pm

Hi Arnie,
I found the bug!
If you use a variable in the skin with a visible logic block in the map element it brakes it!
I have tested using an Alpha logic block which works.
I will add a bug report.
Regards,
Hopki

Arnie
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 4:27 pm

Re: Custom Markers on Map - BUG?

Post by Arnie » Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:52 am

Hi Hopki
That's great!
Thank you
Arnie

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests