How to keep camera position when switching from one to anoth

Q&A about the latest versions
martyhr
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:31 pm

Hi,
I am working on transition between summer and winter version of an aerial pano.

I need to find out how to keep camera position when switching between panos.

The target is to switch the new pano exactly at the same position when leaving the previous version.

http://virtualpanorama.cz/transition/

Martin
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:58 pm

Hi Marty,

You need to add $cur to your Target input box in the point hotspot.
Add %$ht to your P/T/F input box in the skin.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
martyhr
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:13 pm

Hura, thanks a lot Smooth.

http://virtualpanorama.cz/transition/

It is working now.

I have used only $cur and I did not make any point hotspots.
I did it only with two pictures and two text box in the skin editor.

Marty
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:59 pm

You should change your climate image to a button image so it show an active hotspot hand cursor on mouse over.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
martyhr
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:15 pm

yes. good advice, I will try ....
martyhr
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:03 pm

According to your kind recommendation, Smooth:
http://virtualpanorama.cz/transition/

Thank you again

Marty
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3386
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Sat Feb 21, 2009 7:12 pm

looks like that worked out OK. Interesting how you were able to coordinate the angle of view when switching from winter/ summer.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
martyhr
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:00 pm

yes, we tried to remember which was summer position of our helicopter and simply guessed now week ago for winter version.

The result is quite good.

Next time wee prepare to use GPS on the helicopter and catch the same position whenever we need.
User avatar
Wim.Koornneef
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:11 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:09 am

Nice work Marty, I like the transition.
I think this scene is very suited for a 4 season series.

BTW, do you have a googlemaps location of the scene?
Perhaps you like the idea to make a hotspot URL on the ground ? it could provide some additional location information

Best,
Wim
martyhr
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:04 pm

Thanks Win,
yes, I wil add this picture to my virtualczech.cz.
There is the GPS navigation with every pano to czech maps and to googlemaps.
Here is the summer version:
http://www.virtualczech.cz/kraj-pardubi ... um-letecky
and some info about the castle:
http://www.vcm.cz/ ( not english yet)
with of course a virtual tour of mine :-)
http://www.vcm.cz/virtual/virtualni-prohlidka.html

Martin
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:14 pm

smooth wrote:Hi Marty,

You need to add $cur to your Target input box in the point hotspot.
Add %$ht to your P/T/F input box in the skin.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Smooth

Can you elaborate on this a little further for me - I'm trying to do a transitional panorama of 3 images - and need to learn / understand how to get them to start from the same point each time loaded.....

Stu
User avatar
centreofengland
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:50 pm

Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:50 pm

Hi Stu,
I had a go at doing this at the weekend using two panoramas one taken during the day and the other at night.

How I did it was to make a skin and place two "button images" labelled Day and one for night. the action for these was open next panorama, url was the relevant .swf file for night and day, I set the target as $cur
I used the same skin for both panoramas and this is the result :

http://www.absolutelyandy.com/demo/nigh ... 0/day.html

As you can see it works perfectly.

I would like to hear of how other people have created their skins for this. For example how do you make it with just one button that toggles between the two.

P.S. The hardest part for actually making this work was making the two 360s start from the same place, I moved the views in PtGui before stiching so they both started at the same position. I'm not sure if I could have just used the modify view thing in Pano2Vr to sort this out.

Cheers
Andy
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Mon Apr 06, 2009 4:07 pm

centreofengland wrote:Hi Stu,
I had a go at doing this at the weekend using two panoramas one taken during the day and the other at night.

How I did it was to make a skin and place two "button images" labelled Day and one for night. the action for these was open next panorama, url was the relevant .swf file for night and day, I set the target as $cur
I used the same skin for both panoramas and this is the result :

http://www.absolutelyandy.com/demo/nigh ... 0/day.html

As you can see it works perfectly.

I would like to hear of how other people have created their skins for this. For example how do you make it with just one button that toggles between the two.

P.S. The hardest part for actually making this work was making the two 360s start from the same place, I moved the views in PtGui before stiching so they both started at the same position. I'm not sure if I could have just used the modify view thing in Pano2Vr to sort this out.

Cheers
Andy
Andy

your example (of the Silk Mill...?) works perfectly, and exactly as I want it to. Can you send over the skin? Also, will this work with more than 2 panos (i.e. - seasonal 4)...?

I've set my images up by using the 'transform' option in pano2vr, & change default pan view.

Stu
User avatar
centreofengland
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:50 pm

Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:18 pm

Hi Stu,
Yes its the new Cathedral Green in front of the Silk Mill Museum. As per my last entry on the World Wide Panorama website The last WWP event has just gone live on Sunday.

I have attached the skin I used to make my night and day then and now panorama.
It pretty basic stuff but should give you an idea of how it works. This is just my first try at it, I would improve it from here.
If I was wanting to use more than 2 panos then obviously I would just add another button with that linking to the third pano.

Cheers
Andy
Attachments
nightandday.ggsk
Basic skin for night and day
(174.62 KiB) Downloaded 227 times
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:57 pm

Andy

cheers for the help - here's my first attempt:

http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... /001a.html

Stu
Post Reply