hotspot to call images from outside of skin

Special forum to share and discuss skins for Pano2VR and Object2VR
Post Reply
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:54 pm

hi all

see this link:
http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... e/001.html
I have 2 questions:

1. how do I make the rotation stop when the mouse enters / hovers over the hotspot?
2. the popup image is contained within the skin, and even as an optimised .png file, it's still c.170kb. How can I have multiple hotspots that call up a text box / image, like in the example, from outside the skin, thus keeping the .swf file size down to a minimum? Hopefully the example shows better what I'm trying to explain. i know there's been a thread recently about this, but can't find it. I have mastered hotspots to link to other panos, as per the tutorials, but haven't mastered a hotspot to call up an image. Do I have to create separate .html files and use 'mouse over' link to a 'url'....
Hopki - an idiots guide please to solve this problem!
The Client wants to be able to showcase multiple products on their shelves, and this has got me a bit confused (due to my inexperience of delving deeper into the abilities of the Skin Editor!). I remember seeing the inside of (I think) a Ferrari (I think) designed in FPP that did such a thing.....

Do ask if this is a clear as mud! :D

cheers
Stu
erik leeman
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:51 am
Contact:

Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:46 pm

May I suggest you do a search for this header?
showing external images and .swf's

hint: it was posted on Sun Dec 21, 2008 and the latest post was added by zap, not too long ago too, on Wed Feb 11, 2009.

Erik
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:24 am

Erik

Thanks! Knew I'd seen that thread somewhere, but couldn't find it.

Any suggestions to an answer to question 1? - stopping the pano on 'mouse over' a hotspot.....?

Stu
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:27 am

Eric

having read that thread, and downloaded Zap's 'image-hotspot.ggsk' file. Got this far:
http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... e/001.html
How do I tell the Skin to differentiate between the two hotspots? At the moment, both hotspots bring up the same image, even thought the 'image text settings' for each is different,
<img src="http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... popup-[b]1[/b].png">
and
<img src="http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... popup-[b]2[/b].png">

Stu
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:25 pm

after serious help from Hopki, getting there:

http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... e/001.html

What do you all think?

Stu
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:24 pm

Very nice,
As a quickie,
When you click on a hotspot to open an image, add an action to close the other one, mouseClick hide element etc.
Having both open and over lapping looks a bit, well, not right.

All the best
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:57 pm

Martin

Hadn't even considered, or tried, to open both at same time - you're right!

Any idea why, and how to stop, the image quick flicker when first opens?

thanks
Stu
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:06 pm

Hopki wrote:When you click on a hotspot to open an image, add an action to close the other one, mouseClick hide element etc.
how can I add this action, i.e. opening one image will automatically close the other(s)?
Stu
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:11 pm

ah, got it - but a bit 'clunky'....

http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... e/001.html

assigned action to image 1 'mouse click', 'hide image 2', etc

Could get confusing with multiple hotspots as having to assign this action to every image.

Stu
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:09 am

Hi Stu
Looks as if you are still using Toggle Element Visibility to open and close the images, try replacing that action through out the skin with mouse click show element and mouse click hide element. That should stop the toggling getting out of sync which is causing your clunky problem.

“Could get confusing”
Not really, long winded may be, just need to add a mouse click hide element XXX for every other image, so if you had 6 images you would have 5 of the above in each hotspot to make sure that any other images that are open get closed.

Might I also suggest move the image on the right, to the right some more so the left hot spot is not in the image. Or clicking on the right hotspot has an action of hiding or changing the alpha of the left hotspot so it can not be seen. Closing the image on the right could also show or change its alpha back.

I don’t see a flicker; I am using Windows Vista and have tried it in the following:
IE 7
Firefox
Safari
All are using Flash 10
All open ok with no flicker.

All the best
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
stalwart
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:52 am

Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:20 am

Thanks again, Martin!

recommendations amended:
http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... de/001.swf

What's the difference between 'show / hide element' action & 'toggle visability'? I've always used the former, and the only reason 'toggle visability' was in there was that Zap had used it in his demo skin he posted on the Forum. I simply copied & pasted his (or hers!) hotspot template into my example.

Odd - the flicker is still there on my 32 bit Vista - both in Firefox (3.0.6) & Explorer (7.0.6001) with Flash 10.... on initial click of either hotspot, the image appears, disappears for a split-second, then re-appears permanently - but second view, appears correctly...........

cheers
Stu
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10857
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:30 am

Hi Stu
A toggle action which there are a few of, not just for Visibility, is an action best suited for a single button. Click once, switch on, a second click, and switch off. This means you only need the one action rather then two, Show/Hide

The problem with the toggle is if more than one skin element can control the visibility or action, the toggling can get out of sync.

Say you have two buttons that open two windows, button 1 opens window 1. Button 2 opens window 2.

Now we put in a further action in so clicking button 2 not only opens window 2 but hides window 1.

Now the next time button 1 is going to be clicked it will want to toggle close window 1, but we have now closed it with button 2.

So clicking button 1will use toggle close, for window 1, which is already closed, so nothing happens. You will need to click the button again to get to the toggle open state to open it.

You could have used the toggle action to close window 1 which would have worked but that’s not right and when using muli elements it will get confusing and some actions will start to get, as you put it clunky.

It is far better to use Hide and Show Elements when doing what you are in your skin. Click the hotspot to Show the picture, click the picture, to hide self. Simple and can not get out of sync.

If we now go back to the example above but this time with Show and Hide,
Click button 1, show window 1 and hide window 2 (window 2 is already hidden so remains hidden)
Click button 2, show window 2 and hide window 1 (window 1 is now closed)

Both the windows will have the hide self action to close also.

Also Try:
Try including the images in to the skin if thay are not too big.
Instead of the Text box that calls the external image, use the image. Of course with lots of images its better to load them externally to speed up load times for the first pano as it includes the skin.

Edit,
import the images as buttons so when the viewer hovers over the picture the mouse pointer turns in to the hand and lets them know its clickable, other wise put some sort of indication in the pictures, click to close.


The slight flicker could be that as you are calling the images externally, there may be a loading type thing going on, not sure, but as I am not seeing it, I can only surmise, it could also be graphics driver/card related. Have you tried it on any other computers?

Regards
Hopki :D
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
zap
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:13 pm
Contact:

Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:43 am

Hi
Hi Stu
Looks as if you are still using Toggle Element Visibility to open and close the images, try replacing that action through out the skin with mouse click show element and mouse click hide element. That should stop the toggling getting out of sync which is causing your clunky problem.
You could even use a container (i think as I haven't tried it yet)
show element -> element X
hide element -> container of elements

This is merely a code faility to reduce typing all the hide elements one by one.

cheers
360 Panorama Creators http://luxmap.com
Google Trusted Photographer
TopGian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:07 am

Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:36 pm

stalwart wrote:hi all

see this link:
http://www.360imagery.co.uk/application ... e/001.html
I have 2 questions:

1. how do I make the rotation stop when the mouse enters / hovers over the hotspot?
2. the popup image is contained within the skin, and even as an optimised .png file, it's still c.170kb. How can I have multiple hotspots that call up a text box / image, like in the example, from outside the skin, thus keeping the .swf file size down to a minimum? Hopefully the example shows better what I'm trying to explain. i know there's been a thread recently about this, but can't find it. I have mastered hotspots to link to other panos, as per the tutorials, but haven't mastered a hotspot to call up an image. Do I have to create separate .html files and use 'mouse over' link to a 'url'....
Hopki - an idiots guide please to solve this problem!
The Client wants to be able to showcase multiple products on their shelves, and this has got me a bit confused (due to my inexperience of delving deeper into the abilities of the Skin Editor!). I remember seeing the inside of (I think) a Ferrari (I think) designed in FPP that did such a thing.....

Do ask if this is a clear as mud! :D

cheers
Stu
Hi Stu,
this is TopGian from Italy.

I have read often more topics in this forum to cause I have your same difficult to create more hotspots in the same pano.
I have seen you resolved the problem in your pano LIVING Showroom and thanks the help of magic Hopki I created an hotspot with an external image and it's goes well, so I said: "wow, finally" after approx 5 e-mails from Hopki and several trials, now I have my hotspot that open an external image.
BUT unfortunately I have sung victory very soon because my project is to add more hotspots (approx 4 in the same pano) so when I added the second hotspot, it opens the first image and no the second. So I have two hotspots that opens the same image.
I'm sure I changed all the file name into the text box regarding the second hotspot.
Incredible. Also I wrote again to Hopki but yet I no received his answer, so I have seen your Living pano and I noted that the project I want to create is the same of yours.No a showroom but a restaurant.
Now I'm becoming nearly crazy because after many trials still I no found the solution, so please Stu, can you send me kindly your file.ggsk so I can check in what I mistake?.
I hope you can send me soonest your answer.
Once again many thanks in advance.
TopGian
Post Reply