Outputting Equirectangular images

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
BrideValley
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: England

Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:41 pm

Hi everyone
Is it possible to select a specific number of nodes in a project (using the Tour Browser) and save the equirectangular images of just the selected ones? Whatever I try I only seem to get every single node in the project. This can take a while when I'm working on a large tour - the current one is 125 nodes . . .
Thanks
Simon
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10740
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:54 pm

Hi Simon,
Using Pano2VR pro, select the nodes you want using the tour browser.
Then select properties and the convert button.
Set projection, file type, and destination, etc and click convert, it with ask to convert the "selected" panoramas.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
BrideValley
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: England

Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:23 pm

Thanks Martin, just the job! I hadn't come across that tool (obviously). Only been using Pano2VR since version 2!

Update: I tested this with Pano2VR (Version: 6.0.6 pro 64bit Revision: 17336/5.9.4 Build date: Jul 25 2019, 10:24:47) and set the output destination using this dialogue box:
Pano2VR_export.jpg
Pano2VR_export.jpg (55.24 KiB) Viewed 2547 times
I had selected around 30 nodes in the tour browser (the test project contains 40 TIFF panos) and hit the Convert button.
4 equis got saved to the specified output folder. The 5th was corrupted and after that the equis were saved in the source folder for the selected nodes.

I note also that the Input images for the project are updated to the exported images, which is not ideal as my original files are all TIFF and I'm exporting JPEG copies for another purpose. Production is a progressive process and the TIFFs will almost always require further edits as defects and other issues are detected, so I need to keep the TIFF images in the project at all times.

FYI I tried the same exercise in the current Beta (Version: 6.1 beta3b pro 64bit Revision: 17797/5.12.2 Build date: Aug 9 2019, 14:09:41) but it crashed after saving about 5 images. The progress bar stalled and I sat watching for about 5 minutes before cancelling.

Any thoughts?

Simon
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:31 am

Hi Simon,

I'll do a test on my system to see what happens. Roughly what size are you tiff files?

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
BrideValley
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: England

Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:39 pm

Hi Tony
I work with 16bit uncompressed TIFF files straight out of PTGui. They are 12000 x 6000 and the file size is around 412MB each, which can make things a little slow. The current project consists of just under 300 nodes.
I use Pano2VR to extract patches for editing the nadirs and to add logos to various screens before compiling simple tours using Google Maps as the base. I will also be creating animated videos. Any advice you have about minimising the overhead would be very helpful.
Cheers!
Simon
BrideValley
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: England

Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:36 am

Anyone?
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:07 pm

Hi Simon,

Sorry I haven't done any testing yet and I don't really want to go make patches for 30 odd panoramas so I was wondering if the same thing happens if you just load the panoramas, no patching and then export. Do you run into the same issue?

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
BrideValley
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: England

Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:26 pm

Hi Tony,
I used the instructions posted by Martin above and Pano2VR (latest version).
My panoramas have no patches. I used JPEG as the output format, 100%. The Output File value was $d/$ut.jpg and it worked fine.
When I tried to send the output to a different folder (output/$ut.jpg) Pano2VR crashed and disappeared after the progress bar got to the second node
I haven't gone forward to test this after patching the nadirs as I noticed that the output is not being realigned according to the value set in the Default View - Pan field of the Viewing parameters window. As this is required for my particular workflow, any further time spent on this is wasted. I'll go back to using the output window and creating everything in one go, rather than doing so in smaller batches.
Thanks for your earlier input Tony.
Simon
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10740
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:40 pm

Hi Guys,
@ Simon, no matter what I do I can not reproduce the crash.

The path when converting images needs to be absolute.
So as an example my project folder name is "convert" and inside I have three panoramas and the p2vr project file.
Selecting all the images in the tour browser and click convert shows the path:

Code: Select all

/Users/martinhopkins/Desktop/convert/$n_equi.jpg
If you want to put images in a subfolder either use the "Select" button.
In this example, I created a folder called "output" and the path now looks like this:

Code: Select all

/Users/martinhopkins/Desktop/convert/output/$n_equi.jpg
However, you can also use place holders to replace the absolute path.
So you can use:

Code: Select all

$d/output/$n_equi.jpg
So with all this said, if you used

Code: Select all

output/$ut.jpg
it would ignore "output".

@ Simon, if you use the above do you still see the crash?
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
BrideValley
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: England

Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:33 pm

Thank you for looking at this Martin. As the procedure replaces the original TIFF files with the outputted JPEGs in the project I won't be using the technique. I still maintain that a switch to allow saving the selected nodes for output would be really useful. Most of the projects I am working on these days amount to several hundred nodes and I don't always want to output all of them in one go.
Post Reply