Actions

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
EDevey
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:46 pm

Actions

Post by EDevey » Wed May 31, 2017 4:40 pm

Hi,

I have developed a skin from which I would like an action to dial a telephone number. I have searched the documentation to no avail. Can this be done?

I also asked this question in a slightly different way in the Action Script section by error. Sorry.

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 815
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Actions

Post by Tony » Wed May 31, 2017 5:48 pm

Hi EDevey,

I've never tried this before but I thought I'd give it a go. I Googled 'click on number in a web page mobile call a phone number' and got some information about using the TL;DR tags
  • Wrap all phone numbers in hyperlinks with the tel: schema.
  • Always use the international dialing format.
So I just added a text box into a blank skin, added in my phone number and viewed it on my iPhone. You can view it and test it it if you want here:
https://s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com ... index.html

Note: on the iPhone you can't just tap the number, you have to do what is called a long press. You hold your finger over the number and press for a couple of seconds until the phone options start up.

Here's the skin..

Let me know how it goes.

Tony
Attachments
phonenumber.ggsk
(753 Bytes) Downloaded 54 times
Last edited by Tony on Fri Feb 15, 2019 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

EDevey
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:46 pm

Re: Actions

Post by EDevey » Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:24 am

Hi Tony,

Thanks for the prompt reply. I downloaded the skin and had a look and thought it would be a perfect solution but I cannot get 'text' to show up in my skin. I had this same problem when I tried using a text box a few days ago, in the end I used an image of the text as a png.

I have checked, alpha:1 , position on canvas: centre, visible:checked, tried different colours, but I still cannot get any text to show up in the skin. I have hotspots, user data panel and images, all show up when and where they should but no text. Am I missing something basic? Like enabling text?

I am on Version: 5.2beta3pro 64bit

Edwin

EDevey
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:46 pm

Re: Actions

Post by EDevey » Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:28 am

Hi Tony,

Just a clarification. The text shows up in the skin when designing but does not show up in the output.

Edwin

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 815
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Actions

Post by Tony » Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:10 pm

Hi Edwin,

That's strange, not quite sure why the text isn't showing up.

I've attached the whole project for you to try out. Just try opening the project into a local browser and see what happens.

Tony
Attachments
Phonehome_project.zip
(185.44 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

EDevey
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:46 pm

Re: Actions

Post by EDevey » Mon Jun 05, 2017 5:02 pm

Hi Tony,

User error. Sorry, I had moved it off the canvas by an errant minus sign my mistake. Now solved

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 815
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Actions

Post by Tony » Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:18 am

Hi,

Great news, glad you found the issue.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9649
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Actions

Post by Hopki » Fri Jun 09, 2017 6:52 pm

Hi Guys,
As an FYI there is a keyboard shortcut to view off canvas items which is quite handy.
The screen short is from my Mac but with the skin editor open just select View and Show Off-Canvas Elements.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 17.49.23.png
Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 17.49.23.png (46.12 KiB) Viewed 1384 times
Regards,
Hopki

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests