Gyro rotation axis not working?

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
Emil_GITech
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 11:37 pm

Hi,
I've tried out the gyro function wich is included in the pano2vr settings, unfortunatly it doesn't rotate the "x" axis in my illustration I've put togheter
RotateHelp.jpg
RotateHelp.jpg (42.5 KiB) Viewed 4254 times
In the "cardboard.ggt" template all the "xyz" axes works fine, but in the "normal.ggt" template with the "Include gyroscope control" checked it doesnt seem to registrer the "x" axis.

Is there any fix to get the 360 to rotate along the "x" axis?
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3684
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Emil_GITech, Welcome to the Forum

Should work properly for devices that have the gyroscope tool on their device like tablets and smart phones.

Please show us your project and we can try it out for ourselves. URL Please.

Great illustrative XYZ graphic !
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
Emil_GITech
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 11:37 pm

Thank you,
https://visualisering.gitech.ax/BomarsundGyro/
heres the test I've done, click the rotation symbol to start the gyro.
But as I said it does just rotate 2 of the axes.

https://ggnome.com/samples/pano2vr_5/tower/
In this example it does rotate the "x" axis
Emil_GITech
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 11:37 pm

I think I found the solution!

by adding the

Code: Select all

gyro.setUseRoll(true);

in the index file

Like this

Code: Select all

		window.addEventListener("load", function() {
			pano.readConfigUrlAsync("pano.xml",function() {  gyro=new pano2vrGyro(pano,"container");
			gyro.setUseRoll(true);
			gyro.disable(); gyro.setTrueNorth(true);});
		});
Not sure why its not enabled from the beginning, or atleast toggleable.
jmish
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:14 pm

I found the gyro not reliable with Pano2VR.

Sorry to be so blunt about this matter. But I tried to make work MANY times.

I have the latest version.

I also have another software to create gyro-active panoramas from a competitor and those work without fail.

However pano2VR is my first choice due to make advantages , especially when I am planning an animated VR experience.

so could someone really Help Me and tell me how make that gyro work with the mobile cardboard panoramas, PLEASE?
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3684
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

I guess I would have to ask "what device (tablet, smart phone name and Operating system) and BROWSER name and version are you using that is not working?

We use a Samsung Galaxy s7 edge with Android 6.0.1. AND use Pano2vr 5.0x Pro.

Sometimes its not the code.. its the browser and device.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
jmish
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:14 pm

Thank you for your reply.

My device is Samsung Galaxy S4 with android 4.4.2, with the latest Firefox browser (v.47.0) . and I have a scene that was created with the Pano2vr 5.0 pro.

my device is hardly the case nor should it be (hence the fact that people do not have the latest and the greatest devices). my device works fine with another panoramas that was created with another panorama creation software from another developer..

I can show some examples in around 24h or less.

Thank you for your help.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 13005
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Hi Guy's
The gyro will be written into Pano2VR and not just added to the HTML page.
When the developers are looking at doing this then the gyro performance will also be looked at.
I can not say when this will happen but is on the cards.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Post Reply