OUt of Beta GREAT NEWS!!!!

Q&A about the latest versions
PhotoSpherix
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:45 pm
Location: Beech Grove
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:51 pm

Now the questions will roll in.

I have one. What am i doing wrong. My little "600" image is fuzzy, but my "2800" isn't

Deep zoom option in Object2vr
PhotoSpherix
Starting a revolution in Photography
360 Product Photography
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9909
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:05 pm

Hi Matt
Nice table......
How many levels are you using?
Regards
Hopki
PhotoSpherix
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:45 pm
Location: Beech Grove
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:10 pm

I told it auto. I was just starting to make a swing at the deep zoom.

Levels of zoom are 4. 600 739, 1479 and 2958 with a window width of 600
PhotoSpherix
Starting a revolution in Photography
360 Product Photography
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9909
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:47 pm

Hi Matt
For this I would only use the first three levels.
If you were not using multi resolution what would be your settings for this size of image, 2958px?
Regards
Hopki
PhotoSpherix
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:45 pm
Location: Beech Grove
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:50 pm

If i didnt have multi resolution. I would have this displayed at 600 x 600 and I might have a zoom to 900 so I would export the file at 900 and have the player size at 600
PhotoSpherix
Starting a revolution in Photography
360 Product Photography
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9909
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:37 pm

With multi resolution you want good and get better.
So just have the three levels.
Regards
Hopki
PhotoSpherix
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:45 pm
Location: Beech Grove
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:39 pm

Hopki,

I understand the concept of multi resolution. The only issue that I am having is getting the default size set correctly. It seems that the player is doing a couple of resizes to either the movie clip or a separate movie within the player when using the zoom. Not an issue to me, I just need to know how to base line the zoom to a true 100% at start and have that be a size of 600 wide.

I by far want deeper zoom if it can do the function on a multi image option. That way the user does not have the overhead of loading every large file in their visit. An end resolution of 900 is a limitation of the final file size, not the desired zoom amount.
PhotoSpherix
Starting a revolution in Photography
360 Product Photography
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9909
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:40 pm

Hi Matt
Flash resizes images and it uses the fast approach which is not always the best, hence the blur.
The problem is 739 is to close to 600, I would use say 600, 900, 1800, 2958. This is also not ideal but should give a better result.

The rules are:
1) At least 1 level the same size as your window size, which you have, so all good.
2) An even distribution of levels.
3) The Level Tile Size should fit evenly into each level, try to avoid very narrow tiles, as this slows things down, I know not always possible.

Object2VR just halves each level, but you may find that divide by 1.5 gives you a better spread of levels as an example.

In an ideal world:
In put images = 2400 x 2400px.

Your window size 600 x 600px

Your levels:
2400
1200
600 (load and decode at startup)


Your level tile size can be 300 or 600px.

Another example that would work would be:
input 3000 x 3000
levels 3000, 2400, 1200, 600, 300 and level tile size 300.
Although 3000 is not twice that of 2400, there is enough of a gap and the level tile will still fit evenly.

Of course just making sure that the levels are roughly distributed will work, as long as one of the levels is the window size.

Just for added information, the level switch is set so when you go over 1:1, one image px to one window px, the next level is loaded.
I hope this helps, any question's please let me know.
Regards
Hopki
PhotoSpherix
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:45 pm
Location: Beech Grove
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:05 pm

The problem is 739 is to close to 600 That was the piece I was looking for!!!!!


Thanks
PhotoSpherix
Starting a revolution in Photography
360 Product Photography
erik leeman
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:51 am
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:14 pm

GREAT NEWS INDEED!!!

And finally we have inertia, and it works fantastic YEEHAW!
Interaction with the object is soooo much better than it was before, MUCH more convincing.
Thanks Thomas!

Erik
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9909
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:50 pm

@Matt
There are two source actions you may not have used before, but with multi resolution they will now work, these are:
Loaded Levels
Reload Levels

This is similar to Loaded and Reload, but come into play when loading levels :roll: , so you could have a text box saying "Loading" then give it the actions:
Loaded Levels = Hide Element => Target: $self
Reload Levels => Show Element => Target: $self


In the main, it will be flickering on and off like a mad man and you will probably never want to use it, but just thought I word mention it. :)

Here is a project I put together, project stats:

12 columns, 4 rows, Image sizes 2391 x 2391px
Multiresolution: Levels
2391
1200
600 (load and decode at startup)

Level Tile size 600.

The result Here
I did not take the picks, please see logo in the object.
BTW link is also HTML5, but not multires.

Regards
Hopki
PhotoSpherix
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:45 pm
Location: Beech Grove
Contact:

Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:35 pm

I still dont have it right yet. It seems like the 1:1 view is using the preview image. I will play a little more later
PhotoSpherix
Starting a revolution in Photography
360 Product Photography
dreas
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Contact:

Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:24 pm

Great, check out this sample spin. Looks awesome.

www.snap36.com/sample/html5_saw
Take care,

Michael
http://www.snap36.com
strank
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:35 am

Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:53 pm

This version ROCKS! I am struggling a bit to work through and understand new features. Have been using workarounds to date in order to achieve multi-resolution and linking to external content. My big question is "WHERE IS THE UPDATED DOCUMENTATION"?? Can we expect fully updated documentation anytime soon?
Thanks for your efforts and for listening to your constituency.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9909
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:13 am

Hi Strank
It is on the way, but in the mean time I will be happy to answer any questions.
Regards
Hopki
Post Reply