How to set a custom jpeg quality setting for preview track

Q&A about the latest release Version
DorinDXN
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

How to set a custom jpeg quality setting for preview track

Post by DorinDXN » Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:54 pm

Hi, this is my fist post here, I'll hope you'll excuse my English

Many thanks to Thomas for this very usefull software!

My first post = first question

How to set a custom jpeg quality setting for preview track in Pano2QTVR? I mean to use any value instead of 20 which I guess is default.

I tried making my own compressor to treat special, the hopelly pased 20 parametters but, seems that the external compressor isn't called for the preview track. I'll preffer anyway a more simple variant like a parameter in .cfg file to indicate the compression level for the preview track.

This will be very useful in the case of high resolution large .mov, over 15 mb or so when in preview track I'll hope to provide a low resolution pano but at better quality than 20 on jpeg scale to be downloaded in the very first 3-4 mb.

With the default 20 at quality for preview track I did a test here
http://www.dxn.ro/wedding_salas.html
(23 MB download)

thanks,

Dorin

User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2532
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by thomas » Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:05 pm

You can change the quality with preview.quality in the project file so for example if you add the line

Code: Select all

preview.quality=40
the quality for all preview tiles is 40
MfG, Thomas

DorinDXN
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Post by DorinDXN » Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:03 pm

Hi Thomas, thanks for quick support,

I've proceded as you suggested, and doesn't work, it does list at console the new quality indicated but the resulting mov has the same low quality preview track, and the size in KB is the same regardlles of quality indicate, mean the size is the same at 20 with the file at 80 or 100 quality, maybe is sent to compress engine but not executed.

I'm using 1.6.6 pro version of Pano2QTVR

here are two comparative reports

[code]
External Call: "H:\Pano2QTVR\pano2qtvr.exe" -c "_tmp_script.pqp" -ac

Pano2QTVR - Quicktime VR Converter
Version 1.6.6 (c) Thomas Rauscher (support@pano2qtvr.com)


Pro-License: Dorin Godja

Looked for: H:\Pano2QTVR\pano2qtvr.cfg
Looked for: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\pano2qtvr.cfg
Read Configfile: _tmp_script.pqp
Looked for: pano2qtvr.cfg

Initialise PanoTools pano12.dll

Pano12 not available.

Userdata - Title :
Output File : D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\wedding_salas_prog3.mov

Pan (Min/Max/Def) : 0.0/ 360.0/ 25.0
Tilt(Min/Max/Def) : -90.0/ 90.0/ -2.3
FoV (Min/Max/Def) : 25.0/ 70.0/ 35.0

Previewtrack : 1:2

Read Tile 0: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_0.tif
Read Tile 1: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_1.tif
Read Tile 2: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_2.tif
Read Tile 3: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_3.tif
Read Tile 4: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_4.tif
Read Tile 5: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_5.tif

JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
0, 0=149472b,
0, 0=194662b,
0, 0=162047b,
0, 0=126466b,
0, 0= 54586b,
0, 0=212166b,
JPEG - Quality : 90
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 60
0, 0=4108610b,
0, 0=3891765b,
0, 0=3409479b,
0, 0=2852406b,
0, 0=923564b,
0, 0=2223987b,
Delete original file 'D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\wedding_salas_prog3.mov'

[/code]

file size 18816 kb

[code]
External Call: "H:\Pano2QTVR\pano2qtvr.exe" -c "D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\NewProject3.pqp" -ac

Pano2QTVR - Quicktime VR Converter
Version 1.6.6 (c) Thomas Rauscher (support@pano2qtvr.com)


Pro-License: Dorin Godja

Looked for: H:\Pano2QTVR\pano2qtvr.cfg
Looked for: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\pano2qtvr.cfg
Read Configfile: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\NewProject3.pqp
Looked for: pano2qtvr.cfg

Initialise PanoTools pano12.dll

Pano12 not available.

Userdata - Title :
Output File : D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\wedding_salas_prog3.mov

Pan (Min/Max/Def) : 0.0/ 360.0/ 25.0
Tilt(Min/Max/Def) : -90.0/ 90.0/ -2.3
FoV (Min/Max/Def) : 25.0/ 70.0/ 35.0

Previewtrack : 1:2

Read Tile 0: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_0.tif
Read Tile 1: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_1.tif
Read Tile 2: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_2.tif
Read Tile 3: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_3.tif
Read Tile 4: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_4.tif
Read Tile 5: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_5.tif

JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
0, 0=4538639b,
0, 0=5190880b,
0, 0=4989125b,
0, 0=4500991b,
0, 0=2841950b,
0, 0=5690478b,
JPEG - Quality : 90
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 89
JPEG - Quality : 60
0, 0=4108610b,
0, 0=3891765b,
0, 0=3409479b,
0, 0=2852406b,
0, 0=923564b,
0, 0=2223987b,


Delete original file 'D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\wedding_salas_prog3.mov'

[/code]

same file size 18816 kb

please investigate if it works in a test of your own


thanks again,
Dorin

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Post by smooth » Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:00 pm

Dorin,

Create a project file and then add a line to the code within the "Project File Tab"

preview.quality=40

Just add it to the bottom will do.
Then click "Create"

Like this:

# Automatically generated configuration file for Pano2QTVR

# The basic project files
input=
output=pano_name.mov
cubefile=

# Parameters
movie.qtvrflattener=1
stitcher.tiff=1
thumbfile=pano_name_thumb.jpg
stripfile=pano_name_strip.jpg
htmlfile=pano_name.html
flashfile=pano_name.swf
flash.controller.pos=2
flash.preload.image.anchor=0
preview.quality=40


Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

DorinDXN
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Post by DorinDXN » Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:29 pm

Thanks Smooth ,
I did so

The both logs poted above proove that, and even Pano2QTVR did something

if you see these parts

-------8<-------------------------

Previewtrack : 1:2

Read Tile 0: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_0.tif
Read Tile 1: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_1.tif
Read Tile 2: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_2.tif
Read Tile 3: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_3.tif
Read Tile 4: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_4.tif
Read Tile 5: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_5.tif

JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
JPEG - Quality : 20
0, 0=149472b,
0, 0=194662b,
0, 0=162047b,
0, 0=126466b,
0, 0= 54586b,
0, 0=212166b,

-------8<-------------------------

and

-------8<-------------------------

Previewtrack : 1:2

Read Tile 0: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_0.tif
Read Tile 1: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_1.tif
Read Tile 2: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_2.tif
Read Tile 3: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_3.tif
Read Tile 4: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_4.tif
Read Tile 5: D:\EOS\Nunta\Final12k\FaceB_5.tif

JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
JPEG - Quality : 100
0, 0=4538639b,
0, 0=5190880b,
0, 0=4989125b,
0, 0=4500991b,
0, 0=2841950b,
0, 0=5690478b,

-------8<-------------------------

but the result is the same file in both cases, Fiero even investigate and extract the tiles which seem to have 20 quality in both cases

Thanks again,

Dorin

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Post by smooth » Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:41 pm

Dorin,

I just ran some tests and it worked fine!

For testing

Set your Subdivision to 1x1

Resolution to 1:1

preview.quality=90 (in your script)

Once you know it works adjust these settings to your liking.

When I extracted the "preview" cubes it was obvious that the quality was not 20.

I notice you don't have Pano12.dll installed (at least your script shows this) I'm not sure if this is important for this process?

Initialise PanoTools pano12.dll

Pano12 not available.


Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

DorinDXN
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Post by DorinDXN » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:20 pm

hmm doesn't work w/ nor w/o pano12.dll

no idea what could be the cause :(

Dorin

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Post by smooth » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:53 pm

OK,

Just so that I'm 100% satisfied I tested 3 more times.

Picking the "same" cube tile and comparing not only look but also weight.

First at 10% Quality the file size = 12.9KB

Second at 40% Quality the file size = 40.6KB

Third at 90% Quality the file size = 151.0KB

So I'm happy that this works in my mind.

I have no idea why it should be the very same for you Dorin?
Though, I did notice your panorama is made from a cube strip (not individual cubes) where as, mine from a Equirectangular 2:1 spherical image.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

fiero
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by fiero » Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:31 pm

Hi all,

I tested preview.quality and it does not work. The log content is correct, but the Jpeg file into MOV has always the same quality. If I change preview.quality in project file, changes are reflected in log window, but not in the MOV file. I tested with equirect and with 6 cubefaces as input sources..

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Post by smooth » Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:37 pm

Using MAC or PC?

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

fiero
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by fiero » Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:40 pm

I use Windows XP, and Pano2QTVR 1.6.3

DorinDXN
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Post by DorinDXN » Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:50 pm

Hi what I cannot understand is how the log guess the tile size (with a bigger size) and ends puting the lower sizez tile in .mov

could be some temp files issue after all? mean to use the tiles from a previous session if it fails, somehow, to produce the new tiles

Dorin

panocanarias
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:28 pm
Location: Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain

Post by panocanarias » Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:46 am

Dorin, I can confirm and reproduce your problems.
I made a quick check.
WIN XP - Pano2QTVR 1.6.6

Test 1
Took an existing project-file (*.pqp).
Added " preview.quality=90 " manualy.
Preview Track > checked 'Enabled' and 'grayscale' , resolution 1:8
'Create' > watching Console scrolling data > telling preview tiles quality is 90

Test 2
this time with "preview.quality=10 " (this should decrease resulting size)
'Create' > watching Console scrolling data > telling preview tiles quality is 10

BUT: size remains exactely the same in both cases ???!
Tried it w/wo panotools.
Klaus

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Post by smooth » Fri Oct 05, 2007 5:12 am

Are you extracting the preview tiles and comparing the file sizes?

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Post by smooth » Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:49 am

Hmm, when using your image Dorin I cannot extract a preview image set. In fact, everytime I try with your image it only extracts one single image strip. NOT individual loose tiles!

When I use my own images I get 6 x preview tiles and 6 x master tiles.

I don't know the reason why yours is a strip and not individual loose tiles? Other than maybe your workflow or something within the EXIF data?

Please confirm that you get either image strip or individual loose tiles. My interest is what format the "Extracted" image file/s is/are from the compiled .mov file.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests