Inconsistent Display on Different mobiles

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
gr.panorama
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:18 pm

Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:08 pm

Eventhough tested on Iphone 6 and Lenovo mobiles,
and displays fine,
I 've been reported that on 2 devices Samsung Note 2
it displays bad as in the attachments.
http://goo.gl/W5pbdB
Could you please test to see if is an issue with the specific mobile or with more models?
any ideas?
Attachments
Screenshot_2015-03-20-11-55-21.png
Screenshot_2015-03-20-11-55-21.png (1.01 MiB) Viewed 4121 times
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3489
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:03 pm

Well it might be web browser and OS dependent. What browser are they using?

We used a Samsung Galaxy 4s Android OS 4.4.2 AND downloaded full version Chrome 41.0.2272.96

Here is what we see:
test8apr15small.jpg
test8apr15small.jpg (84.56 KiB) Viewed 4115 times
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
gr.panorama
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:18 pm

Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:15 pm

Thanks Dave,
I was sent 2 bad screenshots from both Chrome and Firefox on a Note 2, Android 4.4.2,
and today I saw it myself on Chrome on another Note 2.
*unknown versions
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3489
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:38 pm

I have not seen that type of screen distortion before.

Sorry, I do not have nor do I know anyone with a Samsung Note 2 to be able to repeat this screen err

Maybe some other forum member might help with this issue.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
gr.panorama
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:18 pm

Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:27 pm

Thanks Dave,
here is the screenshot from the other browser on that same Phone
if it helps.
Hopefully someone does have a Note 2 to check and address it.
Someone?
Attachments
note2.jpg
note2.jpg (60.31 KiB) Viewed 4109 times
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3489
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Wed Apr 08, 2015 11:01 pm

I asked a friend of mine in Mexico if he could see your panorama link.

His reply was:

Hi Dave I just get a new cell
Its a Samsung
But galaxy 3

Let me see here

[picture is copy from facebook IM chat ]
fromMexico.jpg
fromMexico.jpg (26.35 KiB) Viewed 4105 times
Works perfectly
Chat Conversation End
Sent from Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Thu Apr 09, 2015 2:41 am

Yes, on some models work. But as I wrote earlier in another post ... it is necessary migration to Multiresolution tab...
Forgotten Mobile tab
Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Untitled-1.jpg (56.3 KiB) Viewed 4099 times
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj
gr.panorama
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:18 pm

Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:42 am

Thanks again Dave,

Thanks Gumir,
What model is yours?
I am not sure I got your point,
it is multiresolution with 2 levels: 1500 and 188 width,
and 1:5 color preview,
and no mobile alternative images for smaller screens
if that helps.
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:08 am

Optimal MR levels
512 / 1024 / 2048 / 3072

in the presence of equi more than 13000x6500
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj
gr.panorama
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:18 pm

Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:32 pm

Thanks Gumir,
Checking even with the optimal levels,
at 512, 1024, 2048,
http://goo.gl/nhCVhE
I have been reported the same issue on a Galaxy Note 2 again.
- seems ok on other phones again, - so I got almost convinced
that is an issue specific to this model.
Someone else can confirm it on a Galaxy Note2?
Thanks,
Minos

screen caps of the new link and project attached on different browsers.
I also attached the project file, just in case it can be of any use.
Attachments
03.p2vr
(6.8 KiB) Downloaded 60 times
Screenshot_2015-04-20-13-12-18.jpg
Screenshot_2015-04-20-13-12-18.jpg (49.25 KiB) Viewed 4005 times
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Mon Apr 20, 2015 1:50 pm

You install update to Note II Jelly Bean 2013 or KitKat 2014?

This 2012 model ... why are you so fixated on it?

BTW. For me on the Nokia 5140 does not show anything
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj
gr.panorama
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:18 pm

Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:46 am

Simply because two of my clients happened to have the Note2 only, and i did not know what to answer to them. :-)
At least if I can approximately confirm it does not happen to other (newer) models, (which seems to be the case finally)
it will be a good response to them. I will also suggest to them the updates - Thanks Gumir
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10623
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:43 pm

This might help,
Android for a long time was a problem due to the difference in software and hardware.
As an example in the office we had two devices, both running the same OS and had the same browser, Dolphin.
One displayed the pano the other the cube faces fell apart. This was due to the hardware differences.

The default browser could not display panoramas properly hence why we tested with Dolphin.
When Chrome became the default browser then things started to get better.
I would say now most new Android devices display panoramas ok but there are still cheap devices out there that may not.

Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
JimWatters
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:16 pm
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick
Contact:

Tue Apr 21, 2015 5:34 pm

I would use your optimized schema used here http://goo.gl/nhCVhE
at 512, 1024, 2048,
With the change of only marking the load at startup on the lowest level only and set auto rotate "Start after fully loaded".
I don't have a Note2 to test with. But curious if you zoom in on the pano, are all visible tiles shown as you pan around. Works on my phone.

You could switch to prefer Flash on the HTML tab.
DennisS
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:25 am

Thu Apr 23, 2015 4:20 pm

Samsung Galaxy
Light - phone - looks great.
S3 - phone - gave up waiting for the higher res pieces to load
Note 10.1 2014 edition - tablet - loads painfully slow but looks great once the pano loads
Note 4 - table - gave up waiting for the initial pano to load

I have a fiber optic internet connection. The painfully slow load times could be an issue out there in Internet land.

You could lower the detail settings to get the pano to load quicker. If you are trying to program for multiple platforms, you may want to take a look at the multi res feature. Once I started using that feature my panos loaded much quicker and have higher quality. One of my latest: http://www.dlsphoto.net/Hawaii2015/Beaches/02/index.htm
Post Reply