Can all hotspots be deactivated when a dialog is shown?

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:55 pm

Quite often I use a start screen, with a client's logo and a "welcome" message.

Moving the cursor around, when the start screen is still shown, pops up all the hotspot information fields.

Is there any way to disable/not show hotspots, when the start screen, info screen, or any other dialog is up?

Thanks!

Harald
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9937
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:50 am

Hi Harald,
Point or Poly hotspots?
How are you poping up the information fields?
A single popup box with dynamic text or individual popups depending on hotspot?
If individual are you using hotspot proxy ID's

Regards,
Hopki
User avatar
jobes
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:34 am
Contact:

Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:45 pm

One simple workaround is to create a fullscreen sized container behind any popup triggered by a hotspot press; it can be fully transparent or a tint. As it sits above any other hotspot buttons it means the user can't trigger other interactive items by mistake. If you use a tint (eg 20% white or black) it has the added benefit of making it more apparent that any other screen / UI items are disabled while the pop-up is active.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9937
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:55 pm

Nice one,
A screen tint would work well here.
8)
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:06 pm

Jobes,

Thanks, this is a VERY clever idea! It also solves another problem - when the panorama is shown in an iframe, scrolling the page starts moving the panorama around. With your fix, it's all sorted!

I've used a rectangle, coordinates -4999/-4999, length and width 9999 (is there a better way to make sure the whole panorama is covered?), I made it grey, with 10% opacity, and put it at the bottom of my start screen/info screen components. Hereis an example, I'm going to add siimilar functionality to all my other work.

Thanks!

Harald
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9937
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:53 pm

Hi Harald,
Just position the rectangle X/Y 0/0 then make it very large. The way screens are going over 10K should be good for a while.
In all my projects I used a black rectangle with the alpha set to 0.5 or 0.8.
This darkens the panorama so the popup stands out more.
Example: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=4639
Regards,
Hopki
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3389
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:29 pm

Might be interesting to see if Height and Width can be set by using 100% x 100%. And use anchor upper left quadrant.
Then we don't have to guess and all screen sizes win.

Maybe we should have a lesson on "Where is Zero/Zero".
For example, where measured in pixels is X axis/Y axis or 0/0 starting upper left corner of frame:

on an html page (hint maybe upper left corner and what about left/right margin distance)
on a panorama image (I think also measured in pixels 0/0 is mid image center on the horizon where center is 50% top to bottom and 50% left to right) Below the horizon is measured in minus pixels -25 below the horizon. Rotation to left is always in negative or - values and to right is positive or + values.

in a skin frame work area
in reference to an anchor point ?
in a skin container where child elements are anchored to the container upper left ?

A picture of all this would be good.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
Post Reply