Hotspot text boxes overlap? Can this be modified?

Q&A about the latest versions
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:55 pm

I have a tour that has a lot of hotspots. If the screen size is small so the hotspots look closer together, I run into a small issue. When you mouse-over a hotspot, the textbox to tell you its title appears. However, if there are other hotspots within close proximity, the text box appears behind the other hotspots and you cannot read the text.

I saw parameters to adjust text, and box size, etc... on the output but I can find a way to adjust positioning. Is there any way to ensure the text box always appears on top of anything else?
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:51 pm

Trying to adjust hotspot text boxes adjacent to point hotspots on a very small map inset presented a challenge opportunity for us when we created this panorama set. For the map insert we used the markertemplate and marker_title [text box]. In the marker_title box Text Properties we used [x] Auto Size which scales the text larger or smaller to fit the box.

Desktop computer screen:
Using the computer monitor the point hotspot in the pano it is ok to use 2 or 3 words. On the small map insert [marker_title].. these hotspots were reduced to 1 or 2 words with the same notation.

Smartphone HTC Evo 4g:
Using the smartphone in landscape orientation you can see the panorama. We found that the map apparantly retains its physical size ---- but the map insert point hotspot text box rescales smaller.. but still readble.

http://360texas.com/services/izamalcity/index.html Click a red dot to see the panorama.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:17 pm

I am using autosize as well. This works fine...the problem is the text box appears underneath the adjacent hotspot image. I need to make it appear on top of anything else.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10734
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:58 pm

Hi,
Please see these tips:
http://gardengnomesoftware.com/wiki/Floating_Tooltip
http://gardengnomesoftware.com/wiki/Flo ... h_Hotspots
http://gardengnomesoftware.com/wiki/Formatting_Text

This will show you how to make a floating tool tip which will track with the mouse.
The file tree as it stands now is build so the lowest element in the file tree is more forward in the panorama.
So if the floating tool tip is at the bottom of the tree it will always be in front of all other skin elements.
Regards,
Martin
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:33 pm

Thank you so much! That is exactly what I needed. However, I have run into another issue I cannot seem to figure out on my own.

I added a floating tooltip for the hotspots, everything in that regard works fine. Now, when I mouse over certain hotspots, the text box that appears flickers rapidly. Even if I leave the mouse on it, it just appears and disappears extremely rapidly. I can't seem to find any kind of difference between this and other hotspots that do not cause this. Even using the same hotspot skin, other hotspots next to these behave normally with their text. Why do some flicker now?

Thanks!
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10734
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:47 pm

Hi,
It sounds like that another element is showing and causing the flickering.
Make sure the hotspots don't have text boxes or anything else that shows on mouse over/enter.
If you cant see anything post your skin.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:05 pm

Skin has been sent in PM.

Its weird because two identical style hotspots are next to eachother...one flickers one does not. Same in other panoramas. I cannot find any difference between them!
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:22 pm

This only happens on 3 hotspots...

In the skin its element: "popup_4236"

This is listed twice in the list because two different hotspots need to trigger it. This is triggering hotspot "hs1." Both instances cause the flicker


The other element is "popup_yc"

This is also listed twice for two different hotspots to trigger. This triggers hotspot "hs4." Only one of the hotspots that trigger this cause flicker on mouse over.

There are other hotspots that trigger the same item and this does not occur. Also, of these I listed, one hotspot that triggers that popup works fine, and the other causes flicker. Very weird! I cannot see any reason for this.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10734
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:48 pm

Hi,
Why can you not change the ID of the elements, so have popup_yc_1 and popup_yc_2.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:22 pm

I tried this and it made no difference. One still flickers.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10734
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:42 pm

Can you post a link where this is happening.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:55 pm

http://ancientcityphoto.com/virtualtour ... l-tour.php

Make sure you view from a flash enabled browser!

The hot spot on the map that says "Historic Yacht Club" its in the center, about 2/3 down the page. That one flickers and the one next to it does not. They are identical spots!
Judy-A
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:26 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:22 pm

I checked your tour in small windows on a Mac in Safari, Firefox and Chrome. Hotspots do not flicker.

Judy
AncientCityPhoto
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:25 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:41 pm

Only the one hotspot on the map flickers, the one right below where it says "eco trail" in the middle.

And if you pull down the navigation for the Inn from the top and click on either Shoreline or Chesapeake suite, one of the photo hotspots inside those panoramas flicker. Those are the only ones. All the rest do not flicker.
Judy-A
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:26 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:05 pm

Okay, I'm seeing flicker on the "View Aromatherapy Steam Shower" hotspots.

Have you checked your hotspots panel to make sure you don't have two hotspots stacked one on top of the other? Also check your Hotspot List for suspects.

As a test, I would drag the "Aromatherapy" hotspot away from its current position and see if it works.

What are your settings for Advanced Settings => Hotspot Text Box? Do you have Auto and Word Wrap enabled, or did you put HTML break codes in the hotspot title?

Judy
Post Reply