P2V 4beta3 - Handling iOS Gyro input - set default as off

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
JohnGore
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:09 am

Just have to say that the Gyro mode is now working exceptionally well now (since P2V 4beta3). Well done Thomas!

I would like to set gyro mode as off by default, but allow the user to toggle the gyro mode on and off.

The second part has already been covered before, and works well ( http://gardengnomesoftware.com/forum/vi ... f=6&t=6994 ).

For the first part, it seems that gyro mode is on by default, and there is no option (that I can find) to make gyro off by default. Perhaps this could be added to the bug tracker Thomas?
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 13015
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Hi,
Already in please see Issue #501
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Boothy
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:45 am
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Contact:

Hi

Has this been addressed yet (cannot tell from issue log)

Thanks

Boothy
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 13015
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Not yet, its still assigned.
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Judy-A
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:26 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Here’s a workaround based on Thomas’ notes in this bug report:

http://gardengnomesoftware.com/bt/view.php?id=420

---quote-------
you can now add javascript code in the Goto URL action. To toogle the gyroscope simple add
javascript:gyro.toggle();
as the URL in the Goto URL action. To enable/disable the Gyro call:
javascript:gyro.enable();
javascript:gyro.disable();
--------------

On your skin, make a rectangle, set to invisible, with the Action
Loaded => Go to URL => javascript:gyro.disable();

On your skin make a visible button to toggle gyro on and off with the Action
Mouse click => Go to URL => javascript:gyro.toggle();

This works for me on an iPad 4.

Judy
Boothy
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:45 am
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Contact:

Thanks again Judy

I did try something similar but using the init action, obviously selected the wrong action. Although I have read all the various descriptions for actions, application is another matter. I will try again later.

Thanks

Boothy
mr_cg
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:32 pm

Judy-A wrote: you can now add javascript code in the Goto URL action. To toogle the gyroscope simple add
javascript:gyro.toggle();
as the URL in the Goto URL action. To enable/disable the Gyro call:
javascript:gyro.enable();
javascript:gyro.disable();
Is it possible to add one Button for enabling/disabling of Gyro in the Skin Control ???
I would like to have Gyro disabled by default when loading the panorama.
And with a button i would like to activate/deactivate the Gyro Control just on demand.

Any solution for this ???
Would be really great to have such predefined feature in the skin control in later versions of Pano2VR.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 13015
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Hi,
This is explained in Judy-A post above.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
mr_cg
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:32 pm

Ok. Got it working now.

I am wondering why nobody was uploading modified gyro skin and why such skin is not included in the predefined package.
Sicadera
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:24 pm

Hi there.

It was working when the created skin.js file had reference to "gyro" but now there is no such reference, hence there is no line to put

Code: Select all

this._gyro.onclick=function () {
         me.player.changePan(1,true);
      }
So I tried the new method to use a button with goto

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.toggle();
but it seems dificult to "call"

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.enable();
javascript:gyro.disable();
for the simple reason that I do not know their telephone number. What is supposed to mean "call"???

So i made twο actions, both with goto

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.toggle();
and one with target

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.enable();
and the other with target

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.disable();
. Did not worked at all. the gyro stops for a second just to start again.

Thanks (in advanced) for time to reply.
Sicadera
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3684
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Gyro [x] specification is located in the HTML5 Output tab called /html\
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
Sicadera
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:24 pm

Thank you for the reply Texas.

Do you mean the "enable Gyro" i suppose.

Yes, this is checked.

And i get a pano2vrgyro.js file.

what action should give to my button to enable / disable gyro?

What is this call enable / disable?

I do suspect that for a coder is a very simple idea, but pano2vr is exactly between the code and a photographer. Such as, for me the "call" is dead end. I do not seek for someone to give me a ready skin, but a hint on how to call this enable / disable function.


And again, thanx for the reply.
Sicadera
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3684
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

OK.. logic tells me if you do not want Gyro... then de-select it and then delete your newly created output folders.. and rebuild your project. This way you get a clean output folder set.

Can't override it.. you just de-select gyro saying to pano2vr you do not want it in the output project set of files.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
Sicadera
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:24 pm

A button that toggles gyro, I want.

I mean to start with gyro but also have a button to be able to stop it.

I cannot figure out how to do this.



With version 3 I changed a line in skin.js and i could do this.

With this

Code: Select all

this._gyro.onclick=function () {
         me.player.changePan(1,true);
      }
inside the skin.js i could add a button in the skin and action goto url: javascript:gyro.toggle();

and the button could stop an ipad from using gyro.

Now it is not working.

Thanx again for the time you took to reply.
Sicadera
Post Reply