Howto use Different _background music

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:21 am

Hi,

I'm building a big (400+) virtual tour for the local tourist bureau in my town and I would like to add background music in different parts
of the tour.
When entering a building a music should start playing during the tour in that building, when leaving the building it should stop.
After that when entering a second building a different music should play.

I'm now using different mp3 files in the background entries for the first panorama entering the building. With two buttons "hs_on" and "hs_off"
I'm starting and stopping the music when entering and leaving the buildings.

Problem now is that the music that is playing is always the same music during the tour. The track that is loaded the first time is playing in all buildings and is probaly tagged as _background.

Any idea howto play different music (background) tracks in different area's of the tour ?

Regards,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10481
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:05 pm

Hi
You can do this but only if you embed the MP3 files...........
This will be changed in the next release, version 3.1.0.

How it works, if you have bg sound in a SWF it will be played, if your SWF has no bg sound it plays the sound from the last SWF which did.
So if pano1 has bg sound and pano 2, 3, 4 don't, the bg sound from pano1 will be heard in pano1, 2, 3, 4.
If pano5 has bg sound, then sound from pano5 will be heard when you visit pano5.
Pano 5 bg sound will be heard in pano 4, 3, 2, and then change in pano1 as it has bg sound.

Regards
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
makiedog
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:54 pm

Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:27 pm

I believe switching to directional sound fixes it. Works in Flash but not HTML 5. Any idea how to do the same in HTML 5?
ScottWitte
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee, USA
Contact:

Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:22 pm

I'll be the first to admit that sound control is proving frustrating and confusing, but what Arjan wants to do seems easy enough, unless I'm missing something. Simply give all the tracks the same ID, say _background. When you go to a new building, the sound track connected to the entrance pano will be different but its ID will always be _background. When you load a new sound with the same ID the new sound replaces the existing sound. At least, that is what's happening for me.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10481
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:26 am

Hi
In the next release you want have to do anything, just add a sound file to the background. if a panorama opens without background sound it will continue to play the background from the prevues panorama. This does work now, but only if the sound is embedded, the next release will work with external MP3's as well.
The Static sound mode will work in the same way too.
Regards
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
makiedog
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:54 pm

Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:10 pm

This is how I ended up doing it on iOS (click mobile on the page): http://www.experience-evt.com/usacup/

I needed to use a button to activate sound for every pano in the tour. Not very elegant but its the best I could think of. Anyone with a better solution? Obviously this is not a problem in Flash.

With all these deficiencies when compared to Flash, one wonders if this up and coming new rich media standard is over hyped. Or is this due to implementation issues from Pano2VR? I wonder if KRPano's HTML 5 implementation has similar issues.

Pat L
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10481
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:35 am

@ skyfocus
Now that V3.1.0 is out you should not have any more problems as now sound works as described in my previous post

@ Pat
The thing with Apple is that they will not let you autostart sound and you can only play one sound at a time.
If you have a sound playing, then have a button to start another, the prevues sound is paused and the new sound is played.
To activate the previous sound requires yet another button click to play from the paused position.

Interesting to see what the WebGL sound support is like in devices such as the Blackberry PlayBook. I have not had a chance to have a play just as yet, but as Apple seem to have the devices everyone is trying to support is there any point?

Regards
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:58 am

Hi Hopki,

You're right .... it is fixed in 3.1.0. Looks like there is still a little bug in it though. When entering the second building, I can still hear a little fragment
of the previous background music before the correct one is starting.

regards,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:56 pm

Hi,
Hi
In the next release you want have to do anything, just add a sound file to the background. if a panorama opens without background sound it will continue to play the background from the prevues panorama. This does work now, but only if the sound is embedded, the next release will work with external MP3's as well.
The Static sound mode will work in the same way too.
Regards
Hopki
Could it be possible that this is not working anymore in 3.1.4 ? With 3.1.4 I've got the same problem again that sound in the next building is not started. Only reinitialising the tour will start the music in the second building but the music in the first building is not working after that .....

help ....

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10481
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:19 pm

Hi,
What are your settings in the sound editor?
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:18 am

I use the background sound with a link to a local external (not enclosed) mp3 file
sounds/music.mp3

<sounds>
<backgroundlevel>0.5</backgroundlevel>
<backgroundexternal>1</backgroundexternal>
<backgroundfile>sounds/music.mp3</backgroundfile>
</sounds>

To switch the music on and off, I have made two different hotspots hs_on and hs_off. These buttons start en stop the (_background) music.

regards,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10481
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:08 pm

Hi,
I have just tested and if using the background sound then all is ok?
Background Sound in pano_01 plays, then when going to pano_02 the first sound stops and the Background Sound in pano_02 plays.

Tested with both App Store version and Website Download.

Can you send me your project, say two nodes with the sound files you are using?

Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:45 pm

Hi Hopki,

Finally found some time to sort this one out. When making a demo to show the problem, the problem was not there anymore.
I re-generated all files from the project where to problem occurred, it was gone, music plays as expected.

Don't know what happened here.

Regards,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10481
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:59 pm

Cool, good thats its working.
:D
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Post Reply