02Mar2015 Mobile settings for Pano2vr version 3.x & 4.1 only

Q&A about the latest versions
atomicmak
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:54 am
Location: INDIA
Contact:

Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:56 am

Hi,

I've HTC Wildfire with Cyanogen Android loaded v 2.3.7 whenever i tries to load pano links here it just show a single cube.
any ways i can produce pano for this mobile ?
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3514
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:33 pm

Hi atomicmak, It depends on the software you are using on your phone AND if the URL with pano is FLASH fall back or HTML5/CSS3.

Please tell me which URL you are trying to load pano.

I will try it on my HTC EVO 4g Hero S with Andriod 2.3.4 which has webkit/533.1 browser and Adobe Flash 11.1 installed. (I can not see HTML5 pano's - need Safari for that flavor)
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
atomicmak
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:54 am
Location: INDIA
Contact:

Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:51 pm

for a test here's url

http://www.wildart.in/others/1/

BTW what usual output should be for HTC Wildfire having its own default browser ?
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3514
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:16 pm

Hi Mak,

I used Safari to view that webpage. The pano was created using Pano2vr (mouse over and right mouse click to view the 'Created with Pano2vr' message. The panorama is a hotel lobby front.. nice orange tile and wood object near fountain. No tripod cap.. as I can see the tripod. Image set used 6 images around horizon.
I used IE 9 to view that webpage. All I see is a 'Cube' no pano.

Appears that page was created with Pano2vr using only HTML5/CSS cube face tiles. They forgot to add a Flash fallback pano .swf.

Using Safari browser I would have seen the HTML5/CSS3 tile sets.
Using IE 9 I would have seen the Flash version of the same pano.

Using my HTC .. I see a page with the yellow lines and 1 ceiling light and the 'User info block. It will not rotate... so my HTC EVO 4g is trying view it as a single cubeface zenith tile... typical of html5/CSS3 delivery when it needs to receive Flash swf.

You can use SKYPE my contact name is iam360texas

Hope all is well in India today... its been a long time since we talked.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
atomicmak
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:54 am
Location: INDIA
Contact:

Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:22 pm

Hi Dave,

INDIA is good and we are also doing quite good so far. i was just playing with trying hands to work on android unfortunately not kwowing how to do i came here to find out.

Sorry that i dont have ports enabled on router that allows me skype. will try my admin to set it up for using that tomorrow and buzz you same time.

would you please tell me what if i want to show pano's running on android which thing will work on the default browser ?
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3514
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:07 pm

would you please tell me what if i want to show pano's running on android which thing will work on the default browser ?
Here is my demo page. This page code is set for both FLASH and HTML5/CSS3. The configuration settings are for various browsers and devices.

By the way we used Pano2vr 3.1.2 to create these panoramas. Current version is 3.1.3.

When you click on the thumbnail "Click to view" it opens a new page. The new page Thomas is using some 'sniffer' code. Works something like this... the code first looks at the visitors device and determines if it is using Android or iOS [apple].

If Apple iOS then it looks for native screen size and delivers tile pixel size 1300 or Apple iPad 2 960 or iPhone 4 800. You can tilt down to nadir and read 800 for iPhone

IF not iOS then device must be an android and looks for Adobe Flash viewer plugin... then delivers the 'Fall back' yourpano .swf AND see NO numbers in the nadir.

Your URL pano... was only built for Apple iOS devices... and they forgot the Flash fallback .swf code. AND the panorama must have been made by others because the image quality is definately poor. Image is out of focus.

http://360texas.com/services/sr/dbu/index.htm

Talk later tomorrow. I should be back online [SKYPE] around 0800 hrs UTC -6 Central Texas Time and will talk to you then.

Dave
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3514
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:06 pm

Added iPad 3 to list. Need to figure out optimum screen sizes.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
NitromanX
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:06 am

Any idea of the optimum Tile Size for the new iPad 3 Max Screen Size of 2048 pixels x 1536 pixels ?

I'd like to create some 360's that are ready for the new iPad 3 but not sure what to set in the "Mobile" HTML5 Output dialogue windows ?

Thanks !!!
Attachments
What's the best Tile Size for the iPad 3 2048 pixel display ?
What's the best Tile Size for the iPad 3 2048 pixel display ?
Screen shot 2012-03-19 at 10.03.22.png (129.43 KiB) Viewed 7051 times
Last edited by NitromanX on Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Professional photographer, videographer and 360 degree interactive panorama specialist.
http://www.rodedwards.com
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11009
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:13 pm

Hi,
Dam good question, file size vs quality as always.

I have tested with 2500px cubes (10,000 x 5,000 Equirec) and it was not that different to 1440px.

I going to test this later to see at what point the iPad crashes.
However I suspect that it will display quite large images, but will the download time it be worth it.

Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
Wim.Koornneef
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:11 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:37 pm

Hopki wrote:...I going to test this later to see at what point the iPad crashes.
However I suspect that it will display quite large images, but will the download time it be worth it....
Martin,

On iPad1/2 the sweet spot is 1440 px for tiles with iOS5.x, it could be very well that the iPad 3 has a sweet spot for tiles of 2880 px.
This is easy to check by comparing the screen quality of tiles of 2880 px and 3000 px created from an equirectangular of approx. 12000x6000 px.

If 1440 px tiles are almost as good as tiles of 2500 px then indeed what is the point of using large tiles, perhaps when zooming in (pinching) then the difference will be better to see but even if this the case I wonder of the gain in IQ is worth the double download time and twice the online space...

Best,
Wim
RobM
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:51 pm

Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:44 pm

Curious to see how the 'new iPad' will pan out too. I'm running a lot locally on the iPad2 through Goodreader. Clients are loving it and asking for their panos to be set up to run locally on their iPads too. Especially good for sales reps and people on trade stands.
I am finding some quirks with Goodreader though and trying to figure out work-arounds to get the mobile experience even better.
visual360media
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:22 pm

Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:24 pm

Hi Martin, to recap, the above settings are now tried and tested and thats pretty much what we should use now? Am creating some html5 stuff tomorrow so ok to use the settings from your old post above? Thanks
Kind regards,

John Goulding
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11009
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:11 pm

HTML5 Output:
After much playing and until something better comes along this is where I have got too.

HTML5 output.
In the settings tab use 1440 cube face size.
I have found this displays nicely on computers and the iPad third generation.

In the mobile tab add:
Max Screen Size = 1024, Cube Face Size = 1024 at image quality 80.
Max Screen Size = 960, Cube Face Size = 700 at image quality 80.
Max Screen Size = 480, Cube Face Size = 416 at image quality 80.

The only drawback is that the second generation iPad will only get to display 1024 cube faces however it can display 1440 with ease.
The thing is the first and second generation both shire the same screen resolution of 1024, but the first generation iPad will crash out at 1440 due to far less memory.
In time you can then remove the 1024 setting and forget about the first generation iPad, but not quite yet as there are still plenty out there.

Found this information on the web:

The first generation iPad took 28 days to reach 1 million units sold.
1 million iPad 2′s were sold on launch weekend last year.
3 million of the third generation iPads were sold over the launch weekend this year.

Hope you find this useful.
Regards
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
Wim.Koornneef
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:11 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:35 pm

Hello Martin,

Thanks for your testing and suggestions for the HTML5 pano tile size for iPads.

Regarding the max. tilesize you can show on a iPad1 I have a comment, with iOS 4.x a pano with a tile size of 1024 px will crash on many machines if some background apps are running and available memory is low.
With iOS 5.x the memory is handled much better and panos with a tile size of 1440px are no problem at all (I am sure you remember I tested iOS 5.0 with much larger tiles then 1440px to find the sweet IQ spot) so in the end not only the version of the iPad but also the version of iOS needs to be taken in account.

For iPad 1 & 2 my advice is to use tiles of 960 px for a while as not every iPad 1 user is updating to the new iOS 5.1 :-(

Wim
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3514
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:02 pm

I added the HTC 4g LTE - 1280 x 720 and 312 pixels per inch screen
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
Post Reply