first observations

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
panocanarias
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:28 pm
Location: Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain

first observations

Post by panocanarias » Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:02 pm

Hello Thomas,
after a quick test, just want to let you know my first observations.

Setting up output-formats, I'm missing an Interpolator-Selector.
Well, I know it's there: somewhat hidden in Menu "File"->"Settings".
But this seems to be the same setup for all output-formats then. Right?
I normally choose different Interpolators for different formats (sync 1024 for stripes/spline 36 for QTVR e.g.).
Therefore I would like to see a selector, directly in the output-settings-window, to choose Interpolator for each format separately. Possible?
(BTW: the spline interpolators seem to be gone?)

Another observation:
Pano2QTVR always asked me: "1200 tilesize with 5x5 subdivision is not optimal,
will produce seems, correct tilesize to 1201 ?"
Now same setting seems to be ok?

And:
In Pano2QTVR, having generated QTVR, you can check resulting size immediately in the status-bar.
I used that often. It's gone?

Did not have the preview-window problems (Erik) nor crash while generating output (Roy).
I'm running XP-Pro.
Saludos, Klaus

User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2527
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: first observations

Post by thomas » Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:46 pm

panocanarias wrote:Setting up output-formats, I'm missing an Interpolator-Selector.
Well, I know it's there: somewhat hidden in Menu "File"->"Settings".
But this seems to be the same setup for all output-formats then. Right?
I normally choose different Interpolators for different formats (sync 1024 for stripes/spline 36 for QTVR e.g.).
Therefore I would like to see a selector, directly in the output-settings-window, to choose Interpolator for each format separately. Possible?
(BTW: the spline interpolators seem to be gone?)
The new version tries to minimize the remapping steps, so if you create a QTVR and a Flash output, there is only on remapping. Therefore the settings shouldn't be in those two outputs because its not clear which one should be used. On the other hand the Remap/Thumbnail output always remaps (because of the possible rotation) so I can add a filter setting there.
Another observation:
Pano2QTVR always asked me: "1200 tilesize with 5x5 subdivision is not optimal, will produce seems, correct tilesize to 1201 ?"
Now same setting seems to be ok?
I have overseen this. I will add this check again in one of the next versions
And:
In Pano2QTVR, having generated QTVR, you can check resulting size immediately in the status-bar.I used that often. It's gone?
I plan to make this smarter with a dynamic calculation so this will also be in one of the next versions.
MfG, Thomas

panocanarias
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:28 pm
Location: Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain

Post by panocanarias » Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:23 pm

Ok, Thank you, Thomas!
Will wait and see.
Klaus

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests