Error in Domain Lock documentation

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
Judy-A
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:26 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:14 pm

I have a serious issue with the P2VR documentation on this web site which gives wrong information to new users. I followed those instructions with my first panoramas and it gave me nothing but headaches.

Web site visitors who input one's domain URL without "www." in the address will be locked out of the Flash panoramas.

Here's an image that shows the problem with the documentation for P2VR Flash output>Lock.

If there's a reason why this should not be changed, please explain why including "www." is necessary.

Judy
Attachments
p2vr_lock_format.jpg
p2vr_lock_format.jpg (112.09 KiB) Viewed 2353 times
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10487
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:33 pm

Will look in to this tomorrow and get back to you.
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Andrew H
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:04 pm

Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:23 pm

I had trouble with this as well, Judy. I expect you have already discovered the following, but for those who have yet to encounter this problem the following is how the domain lock feature seems to work at the moment :

If you enter the domain name in Pano2VR with the www. - e.g. www.domain.com - a visitor to the site who gets there by entering only domain.com in their browser will not be able to view the pano.

However, if you enter the domain name in Pano2VR without the www. - e.g. just domain.com - a visitor to the site who gets there by entering www.domain.com in their browser will be able to view the pano.

I agree with you, Judy, the documentation needs to be updated to reflect this.

Regards
Andrew
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10487
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:52 pm

Hi Judy
Being Sunday I can not find out anymore information?

I personally only ever use just the domain which is:

mydomain.com

For more than 1 domain I just put a space in between, so:

mydomain1.com mydomain2.com

As already said I will get back to this thread when I get more information.

Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10487
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:22 pm

Hi Judy
The text in the documentation is not wrong, but more incomplete.

The domain lock compares the text entered in the lock text box in Pano2VR to the location of the file as reported by the server. So the domain lock should contain the files actual location.

An example of this is if you enter www.newyorktimes.com, you are forwarded to www.mytimes.com so www.mytimes.com needs to be in the lock text box.

Also the domain lock looks at the last part of the domain working forward.

A simple example:

www.mydomain.com is entered in the lock.

You enter www.mydomain.com in the address bar and the file will show.
Enter mydomain.com and the lock will activate as it also wants to see www.

If you enter mydomain.com in the lock text box and enter www.mydomain.com in the address bar the pano will show because the lock text is in the address bar.

www.mydomain.com

As the lock looks from the back to front you will always have to have the.com, .co.uk, .at etc.

To separate domains in the text box you can use:
(space) mydomain1 mydomain2
(comer) (space) mydomain1, mydomain2
(comer) mydomain1,mydomain2
(semicolon) mydomain1;mydomain2
(semicolon) (space) mydonain1; mydomain2

Hope this clears things up, i will update the documents on the website also.
Regards
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:33 pm

Hopki,

While I understand what you are saying it is only over complicating matters.
If the documentation simply says to enter domain.com, domain2.com, domain3.com there is no need to ever enter http://www.domain.com

We have covered this before on quite a few forums and it is the logical answer.

domain.com allows people to see the panorama using either address (with and without all the www's)
http://www.domain.com restricts and confuses people. Not allowing domain.com to view the panorama.

Judy, Andrew and I all agree. The documentation should simply be adjusted to show domain.com, domain2.com, domain3.com
and a warning that adding the www's will restrict viewing to that address only.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10487
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:13 pm

Hi Smooth
Not enough information caused a problem, while I agree it is a bit over the top, I just put it all down for the moment, I will revisit this when I get more time.

Busy with instructions for multi res and up and coming features for the minute :wink:

But guaranteed if I don’t cover everything someone else will have their say it’s not covered.

Anyway, as said I will revisit later, next week or two.
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Post Reply