memory problems (still)

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
mrt
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 1:22 pm

I've been having memory problems unloading flash panoramas for ages and am having no joy.

Please see this post for full details

http://gardengnomesoftware.com/forum/vi ... f=6&t=2835

Since then I've updated to beta4 and added the vr.cleanup(); line.

Therefore my code looks like this in the frame of the container which want to unload the pano

Code: Select all

stop();

close.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,close_pano);

function close_pano(e:Event):void {
	vr.cleanup();
	removeChild(loader);
	gotoAndStop(3)

}


full.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,close_pano_and_full);

function close_pano_and_full(e:Event):void {
	vr.cleanup();
	removeChild(loader);
	gotoAndStop(4)

}
However, while the pano is removed from the screen, task manager tells me that it has not been removed from memory.

Does anyone have any further suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Nick
User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2613
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Do you use a skin in the panorama?
MfG, Thomas
mrt
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 1:22 pm

Hi Thomas,

Yes, there is a skin which shows a loader bar. It's an edited version of one of the ones that comes with pano2vr but with the up down left right buttons removed. Could that complicate matters?

Thanks for your time,

Nick
User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2613
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

For some reason you can not free the panorama if there is a skin used. I remove all handles with the "cleanup" method but still Flash keeps the whole panorama in memory. Try to build the loading bar within your Flash app and remove the skin. This should allow you to free the memory.
MfG, Thomas
mrt
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 1:22 pm

Hi Thomas,

Thanks for looking into this for me.

However, I removed the skins from the panos published using pano2vr and the problem is persisting.

Any ideas what else could be wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Nick
theK
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:05 am

Hi all,

has anybody found a solution to vr.cleanup() not working in 2.3?
Has this been fixed by now?
I know that you can use loader.unloadAndStop() in FP10, but i have to publish my virtual tour in FP9.
Any help is much appreciated!!


Cheers,
K
Post Reply