Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Q&A about the latest versions
Sascha Selent
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:36 pm

Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by Sascha Selent » Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:44 pm

Hi.

Is it possible to transfer the view from one panorama to another?

I´ve got the following. My first panorama shows a 3D-scene from a room with a special interior-design. My second panorama shows the same room with a alternative interior-design. Now I want to switch between the to panoramas. Okay, no problem so far, but...

...when I look around, change my view and then switch to the other panorama, the view is resettet to the view defined for the second panorama, so my view jumps. I cannot compare the interiors directly in every direction, I always have to turn around again to the specific region.

I would be great if it were possible to tell the loaded panorama to show the same view like the panorama that is replaced.

What do you think?

And again: possible till Monday, 01-26-2009? :mrgreen: I have to deliver on Tuesday...

Best regards.

Sascha

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by smooth » Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:54 pm

You can pretty much do that now with these parameters:

$ap = current pan angle
$at = current tilt angle
$af = current field of view

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

Sascha Selent
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:36 pm

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by Sascha Selent » Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:58 pm

smooth wrote:You can pretty much do that now with these parameters:

$ap = current pan angle
$at = current tilt angle
$af = current field of view

Regards, Smooth 8)
Woh, thanks for the quick answer!
Yeeeh, sounds good, but how do I implement this in the skin-editor? I´m a newbie.

User avatar
zap
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by zap » Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:37 pm

Hi

This is possible choosing in the skin the following action

"Open next panorama" and choosing the Pan/Tilt/FoV Values.

This way you can easily choose your viewangle

For direct adressing choose the smooth360 his method

Cheers
360 Panorama Creators http://luxmap.com
Google Trusted Photographer

frodo
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:52 pm

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by frodo » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:02 pm

Hi, Sasha! Please could you tell us if it worked. If so would you be so kind and post a link to see how it works. It could be very usefull.
Thanks, Martin :D

User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2532
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by thomas » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:24 pm

You can use $cur in the target field to transfer the position from one pano to the next.
MfG, Thomas

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by smooth » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:12 pm

thomas wrote:You can use $cur in the target field to transfer the position from one pano to the next.
Thomas,

Is this "Cursor position"?

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

erik leeman
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by erik leeman » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:31 pm

I'd guess its something like 'Current Position' or 'Current parameters'.
It's not in the list of skin placeholders from 09-01-08 as far as I can see.

Erik

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9498
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by Hopki » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:36 pm

Hi Smooth
This has cropped up before, I am sure that it is a place holder to obtain current position (CUR) I seem to remember its used for loading a hi res version of the same pano.
But I could be wrong :mrgreen:

Hopki :lol:

Sascha Selent
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:36 pm

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by Sascha Selent » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:47 pm

thomas wrote:You can use $cur in the target field to transfer the position from one pano to the next.
Yohoh, Thomas, love ya! :wink:

Works perfect!

Is there any documentation for these possible features?

Sorry, but I cannot post an example, because the project is secret. I have to follow the order of my client.

But here comes a screenshot for the behaviour:
cur.gif
cur.gif (1.64 KiB) Viewed 3821 times
Thank you very much!

Sascha

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by smooth » Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:48 am

Hopki wrote:Hi Smooth
This has cropped up before, I am sure that it is a place holder to obtain current position (CUR) I seem to remember its used for loading a hi res version of the same pano.
But I could be wrong :mrgreen:

Hopki :lol:
OK, it was my thought when looking at "cur". I have never seen any hi res versions of your panos.
Would appear it would be one in the same current or cursor I just wanted to know for my documented list of place holders.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9498
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by Hopki » Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:28 pm

Hi Smooth

I did not mean to offend; :( I just remember seeing it before. :)

I haven’t made any really hi res panos as yet, came close once but had a few to many people looking at it and burnt up my bandwidth, ended up paying for top up. :(

So the best on my site at the moment is Here at 2.2 MB

On the CD’s I send out to customers my panos cam be 30MB each, but as they run locally that’s not a problem.

All the best
Hopki

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by smooth » Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:35 am

Hopki wrote:Hi Smooth

I did not mean to offend; :(
No offense taken. It was very late when I asked the question I.E 6.12 am after another all nighter.

Still, is it official? Current or Cursor = Cur?
Like I said I just want to add it to my list of place holder descriptions.

Lastly, please don't take offense but your panoramas (large file size or not) lack focus and clarity. This is something you could improve on and I would be willing to offer some pointers.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

Derek
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:33 am

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by Derek » Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:42 am

This is great, thanks. I have two .swfs and inserted the $cur command in to both files linking to the other. It works great the first time from both files but after that it just refreshes the current file without switching. Did I miss something?

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9498
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Transfer view from one panorama to another?

Post by Hopki » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:42 pm

HI Smooth
You are right, I have been looking into improving the quality, as I may have mentioned, I am not from a photographic background, but am learning. :? Cash limits my kit, but I am sure I can squeeze better results out it, I am learning about F Stops and DOF, also looks as if manual focus is the way to go. :lol:

My Kit is Canon 400D, Sigma 8mm F3.5 EX DG and a NN3 pano head on a ball head, not the mess I started with. :oops:

Any help would be good, but I sort of started a conversation between Hum and Erik about this and the last thing I want to do is involve another person. See thread Here

All the best Hopki :lol:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests