fscommand "quit"

Q&A about the latest versions
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by hum@no.id » Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:17 pm

not DOC header...

like this

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-gb" xml:lang="en-gb">
Attachments
ffview.PNG
ffview.PNG (33.13 KiB) Viewed 3263 times
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj

Sascha Selent
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:36 pm

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by Sascha Selent » Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:21 pm

erik leeman wrote:The selection pages like http://www.addresstoview.com/Norwich/norwich.htm work,
but of http://www.addresstoview.com/flat14 and http://www.addresstoview.com/flat19
only the HTML-code is shown in Firefox v3.0.5 (WinXP Pro 32bits SR2).
Again, those pages do not have a !DOCTYPE.

Hmmm, but neither does ...norwich.htm when I look at the Page Source in Firefox.
Odd.

Same with http://www.addresstoview.com/ksp, only HTML-code.
(also without a doctype declaration)

Update 1: Opera v9.63 Build10476 also only shows HTML-code with those pages.
Update 2: Safari v3.1.2 (525.21) ditto, only HTML-code.
Confirmed by me...

erik leeman
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by erik leeman » Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:24 pm

http://www.addresstoview.com/Norwich/norwich.htm also doesn't have a doctype, but it opens normally nontheless.

???

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9649
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by Hopki » Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:48 pm

Hi Hum & Erik
Try http://www.addresstoview.com/flat19

and then

http://www.addresstoview.com/flat19.htm

I wonder if a problem with extensions, I have also added a Doc Type to the top of the page.
Cheers
Martin

UP DATE:

I don’t think it is the Doc type re the above that’s the problem.
I have just removed the Doc type from the code.

Interesting that Front Page does not put Doc Type in its pages. I still think it was an extension problem.

Please try, many thanks
Martin


User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9649
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by Hopki » Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:28 pm

Hi
With IE you can drop the extension and still see the webpage, so visitors to my client’s pages only had to type in www.addresstoview.com/flat19 with out the need to put the extension in, a bit like My Space.

I have put the file extensions back so all should work once more.
Pity as now visitors to the pages will have to put in the extension too now.

Thanks for your help Hum & Erik most appreciated, I have one other question, photo related, Sigma 8mm F3.5 fisheye lens with Canon 400D. How many shots around would you do, 4, 5 or 6?

At the moment I take 4 around with the camera tilted up a bit and 1 floor shot.

Looking into it, the fisheye lens quality drops off so taking more shots will help prevent this, I am told.

I have also asked this question on the PT Gui support site, just interested in other people views.

Cheers
Martin

smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by smooth » Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:16 pm

You need to make a folder called flat19 and then place the .htm file within this folder but rename it index.htm (or better index.html)
Your address would be http://www.addresstoview.com/flat19 or http://www.addresstoview.com/flat19/index.htm

It is as simple as that. Placing a file within a folder called index.html removes the requirement of the .htm (.html) file extension. (for all browsers)

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9649
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by Hopki » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:18 pm

Hi Smooth 8)
I am very impressed, works a treat. :D
Many Thanks
Martin

erik leeman
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by erik leeman » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:28 pm

How many shots with that camera and lens? 20 if necessary.
Don't let other people decide what is good enough for you Martin, trust your own eyes!
Technically the final quality of your equirectangulars depends on many factors, but the quality of the images you start with is most important. Your abilities as a photographer and the circumstances dictate what your equipment will yield. If you are able to use that lens at its optimum aperture, which normally is at about f/8.0, focused at the optimum distance for the scene, with your camera mounted on a stable tripod and a perfectly adjusted panohead, AND no moving objects or continuously changing light in the scene, THEN you can do with a low amount of overlap, assuming your quality standards are reasonably high. But if any of these factors are compromised you will have to compensate with more overlap, so you can use less of the peripheral areas of each shot on the horizontal axis. But your zenith will still be poor if you don't add a separate zenith shot. So roughly speaking it depends: bad conditions = many shots , good conditions = few shots.

Erik

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9649
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by Hopki » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:35 pm

Thanks Erik :)
Martin

User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by hum@no.id » Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:56 pm

But your zenith will still be poor if you don't add a separate zenith shot.
BTW. Sigma 8mm F3.5 optimum for Nikon DX form-factor (drum fisheye), I don't shoot zenith... 4 arround + 1 nadir

http://mmgfx.com/dialindemo/
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj

erik leeman
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by erik leeman » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:20 pm

I know that lens will cover the zenith, but it will always be at the edge of all images you have if you don't shoot a separate zenith shot.
And under (not only) less-than-optimal conditions those edges will be significantly worse in quality than the centres of those images.
So by only increasing the number of shots for your (near) horizontal series to improve the quality of your equirectangular, you will still be using those bad edges at the top, no matter how many images you took!
I think you should always shoot a separate zenith shot if you can, so you have the option later to use it or not.

Erik

User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by hum@no.id » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:44 pm

less-than-optimal conditions those edges will be significantly worse in quality than the centres of those images.
It's right.... if clients persist on quality for ceiling area (in-door) - approx. 0,10% personal requirements...
but 'out-door' (landscapes) this absolutely not important...
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj

erik leeman
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by erik leeman » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:59 pm

but 'out-door' (landscapes) this absolutely not it's important...
For you it isn't, for others it might be very important!

That's why there are no strict rules, everyone has to decide for him/herself what is best under given circumstances.
But to be able to do that successfully you have to know what the consequences of your choices will be in advance.
This can only be learned by experimenting yourself, not by merely doing what others do.

Erik

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9649
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: fscommand "quit"

Post by Hopki » Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:52 pm

Errrr
Sorry sounds if I have started a bit of a conflict, :( all comments are good. :)
BTW I have implemented Smoothes folder trick so any chance you chaps making sure it works on your browsers, www.addresstoview.com/ksp

Many thanks
Martin :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests