Output Performance in Browser is horrible

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
KAaron
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:01 pm

Wed Nov 04, 2020 11:44 pm

Has something changed with the recent update? When I generate output and view it in Chrome (most recent version) performance is horrible. Moving the pano is slow and jerky. Really bad.
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3506
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Thu Nov 05, 2020 3:34 pm

Please provide link to your example... so we can see what your talking about.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
SMerriss
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 2:12 pm
Location: Columbus Ohio

Thu Nov 05, 2020 4:37 pm

Hey KAaron,

There could be a couple reasons your output isn't performing as it should.

Personally I have had poor performance under a few circumstances. The first being just how big of a tour you are creating. Projects that I have been working on recently have several hundred tour stops, and I've seen that cutting down on stops as best I can has caused the outputs to run much smoother.

The second is the amount of outputs you have open at the same time. Having to keep outputting my projects to check on a small change really stacks up in my browser, and I have to remind myself to keep closing old outputs.

Lastly, check what kind of a load your computer is under when testing. I have several applications open at once and closing what is not needed during testing has also helped with tour performance.

Hopefully you can use these to help with performance issues but if not, I hope someone else can answer your question.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10859
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Thu Nov 05, 2020 5:41 pm

Hi KAaron,
How far have you got with this?
I would try with Firefox and see if its a performance issue with the tour or with the browser?
Does/Did Crome have an outstanding update?
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
KAaron
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:01 pm

Thu Nov 05, 2020 9:29 pm

I'm not sure how to send a link, this is when I'm previewing on localhost. http://localhost:49639/xZ5G-cZ-/index.html

To answer other suggestions:

I only have one output open.

The tour has about 80 panos, so nothing huge. I've done this many times before.

I've had activity monitor running and there's nothing unusual or heavy. I have tried closing various apps with no change. In addition I have rebooted.

I did try this in Firefox an it performs normal. So is there something with Chrome? Here's the version I am on, Version 86.0.4240.183 (Official Build) (x86_64)
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3506
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Thu Nov 05, 2020 9:48 pm

Unfortunately, we can only see links to your website.

I'm previewing on localhost. http://localhost:49639/xZ5G-cZ-/index.html which is being run on your computer so we can not see it.

Create a Link:

To create a link to your website type in the path like below then highlight it by dragging your mouse over the text and
THEN up on the button board find the "LINK" chain icon o-o that places pair of 'url' and '/url' around the text.

Now AFTER you submit this comment... the link is clickable and opens a new browser window. This is one to my Gallery page on our website.

Visit our Gallery by clicking "
https://360texas.com/gallery.html
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
Neal
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:14 am
Contact:

Sat Nov 07, 2020 4:28 am

You may want to check on how much disk space you have open. When you are viewing the output on the localhost, you are having 3 different programs in use: Pano2VR, the webserver, and the browser. Both the server and the browser cache the images, and I think so does Pano2V2. So if there is not enough memory or disk space available, you end up with slow performance.
KAaron
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:01 pm

Thu Nov 12, 2020 10:44 pm

Sorry guys, busy and out of town.

I've got plenty of disk space available, about 750GB on a 2TB drive. Performance issue is limited to Chrome. it works great on FireFox and Safari.

Completed tours uploaded to my site work fine. Here's an example of one. https://virtualhomeinventory.com/sample ... ding-page/

The problem seems to be localized to Chrome and loacalhost output. When I copy the localhost link to Safari or Firefox, it works great.
Neal
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:14 am
Contact:

Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:47 am

It sounds like something in Chrome on your computer. The first thing is I would clear out Chrome's cache. If that doesn't work, then move on to both the cache and cookies.
The next step would be to check any extension you have installed. Disable all of them and start turning them on one by one.
You can also bring up Chrome's task manager and see if something is using a lot of resources. Chrome has it's own task manager that is separate from windows.

.
Post Reply