Gyroscope not working on mobile devices ?

Q&A about the latest versions
JezUK
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 6:13 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:50 pm

I’ve had this work before no problem (a few years ago), but recently I’ve created a panovr for a 3D interior, but I just cannot get the gyroscope to work on either my sndroid phone, nor my iPad.

I have got gyroscope enabled in the files I created.

But I cannot find anywhere on my iPad to switch on the gyroscope for either Safari or Google Chrone.

I use Google chrome on m6 android phone and that’s not working either.

Please can you advise ?

Have Apple removed the ability to do this ?

And Android too ?

Thanks.
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:54 am

Hi,

Apple and Android have put in security measures which means the gyroscope is blocked unless your hosting your tours on a secure server, https://

viewtopic.php?t=13695

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: https://tonyredhead.com - https://redsquare.com | Pano2VR Tutorials: https://tonyredhead.com/pano2vr | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
JezUK
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 6:13 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Fri Sep 11, 2020 12:02 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your reply, and excuse the many typos in my first post.

I thought I was, my website is on a https.

The strange thing is, my client says he experiences the gyroscope effect, only I don't.....

Any ideas what to do?
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11289
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:14 pm

Hi Jez,
For the iPad go to settings, then Safari and clear all website data.
The reason for this is if you say no to allow the gyro once it will not ask again.
I can not comment on the Android Phone but I would take a guess that's its the same.
When you select the button in your tour to activate the gyro you will get a message asking will you allow xxxxx website to use your gyroscope. you need to allow for it to work.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
JezUK
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 6:13 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:36 pm

Hi Hopki,

I’ve just tried what you said, clearing the cache and data for Safari for the iPad and it didn’t do what you said and never asked me either.

Can you suggest anything else I could try ?

Many thanks.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11289
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:46 pm

Hi Jez,
If it's not working then it may be because you're using an old iOS/iPadOS.
Can you confirm?
Also, can you post a project link that has a gyro?
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
DavidF
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 6:54 pm

Sat Jan 23, 2021 9:20 pm

I've encountered the same problem.

I used the standard silhouette_v6 skin.

I'm connecting via https.

I deleted all website data on my iPhone.

The gyroscope button is not showing but the background of the control slider has an empty space on the right side, so I guess it kind of recognized an available gyroscope.

On the iPad it shows the gyro button...!?
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11289
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sun Jan 24, 2021 3:01 pm

Do you have a link?
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
DavidF
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 6:54 pm

Sun Jan 24, 2021 6:33 pm

Hopki wrote:
Sun Jan 24, 2021 3:01 pm
Do you have a link?
https://maju.orchidproductions.de/
https://novaku.orchidproductions.de/

They both show the gyro button on the iPad but not on the iPhone!

Thank you very much in advance! A big thanks also to the awesome webinars that you offer for free on the website! I learned and still learn a lot from them! A+ customer service!

Best regards,

David
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11289
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sun Jan 24, 2021 7:10 pm

Hi David,
For me, the top link shows the gyro button but not the second one.
Maybe share your skin?
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
DavidF
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 6:54 pm

Sun Jan 24, 2021 7:42 pm

Thank you so much for your help! Attached are the two skins! We tried it it with an iPhone 6 and 6s both do not show the gyro button.
Attachments
silhouette_v6_DF.ggsk
The skin for the Maju tour
(83.14 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
silhouette_v6_DF_Novaku.ggsk
The skin for the Novaku tour
(84.82 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11289
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sun Jan 24, 2021 8:36 pm

I see the gyro button in both, ok not all the buttons and you need to check your settings but they they are there.
See attached screenshots, iPhone 11 pro iOS 14.
Regards,
Attachments
IMG_1544.PNG
IMG_1544.PNG (381.37 KiB) Viewed 501 times
IMG_1543.PNG
IMG_1543.PNG (377.22 KiB) Viewed 501 times
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
DavidF
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 6:54 pm

Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:42 am

Thanks for checking that out on your device.

What do you mean by "checking out your settings"?

Attached you find the two screenshots from my phone not showing the gyro button:

Best regards,

David
Attachments
IMG_1418.PNG
IMG_1418.PNG (1.94 MiB) Viewed 484 times
IMG_1419.PNG
IMG_1419.PNG (1.26 MiB) Viewed 484 times
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11289
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Jan 25, 2021 12:06 pm

Hi David,
In the skin when a button does not show then the skin should adapt to the missing button.
As an example, when using iOS and the fullscreen button is hidden then the buttons should centre and the background rectangle should get shorter to compensate.
The two skins you attached have issues as the buttons are not spaced out as should or the background does not fit the number of buttons.

With regards to the Gyro Button not showing

This is working for me on more than one device.
Can I ask what is your iPhone 6's iOS version?

iPhone is on iOS 14.3
iPad is on iPadOS 14.3
The iPad is showing the fullscreen button as well as the Gyro as it uses the Desktop browser so reports as a Mac.

Android 11, using Google Pixel 3 phone also show the Gyro button.

If you are also on iOS 14, then to make sure please go to your phone's settings, then select Safari, then Clear History and Website Data.
Note this will clear all history as well.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
DavidF
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 6:54 pm

Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:47 pm

Thanks again for your generous patience with me! By the way it is possible to do a 1 on 1 training session with you where I can pay you by the hour?

I'm using iOS 13 (14 is not supported). I cleared the history and website data several times but without any luck of seeing the gyro button. I'm glad that it works out on your devices, so it should work too for most viewers.

Best regards,

David
Post Reply