Polygon hotspot titles appear on top on iframes

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
User avatar
KRitchie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Mon Aug 31, 2020 2:26 pm

I am having an issue where my polygon hotspots appear on top of my iframes when they are clicked. The weird thing is sometimes I only need to move the mouse slightly to make it disappear. Other times I have to move the box past the edge of the iframe to make it disappear.

I want to be able to tell it hide or change visibility in the skin but I do not know where in the skin the polygon hotspots are addressed. All their values are set in pano2vr and not the skin editor as far as I can tell.

Any ideas??

Thanks

- Kevin
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 999
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:55 am

Hi Kevin,

Can you send me the skin? Or a link I can have a look at and I'll see if I can find a solution.

cheers,

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
User avatar
KRitchie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Tue Sep 01, 2020 3:35 am

Hi Tony, thanks for offering to take a look. I have attached sample project and skin to this post.

- Kevin
Attachments
polygon_tooltip.zip
(1.51 MiB) Downloaded 16 times
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 999
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Tue Sep 01, 2020 8:35 am

Hi Kevin,

All resolved, I've uploaded the output file to https://tonyredhead.s3-ap-southeast-2.a ... index.html

and there is a Project folder you can download at https://tonyredhead.s3-ap-southeast-2.a ... p_tony.zip

I think the issue was the use of existing hotspot components and their elements. You will see that I've created unique versions of the polygon popups along with variables just for their use.

I've also added in some settings where the polygon colors are changed at startup and they are hidden when they are clicked on.

cheers,

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
User avatar
KRitchie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:42 pm

Hi Tony, thanks so much! - This is great. The only issue I am having now is when testing it on an iPad, PDF's that open in the iFrame don't really work. They just show the first page. Before I had it so that if a device had touch it would open in a new window. I used the logic block from the default ht_url to make this happen. I have tried adding this to the Actions in the WEB-URL container, but have no luck getting iFrame to open in new window.

I would like all iFrame on iPad (iOS) to open in a new window, just to be on the safe side. I don't know what I am missing to make this happen.

Any ideas?

- Kevin
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-09-01 at 10.39.06 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-01 at 10.39.06 AM.png (37.51 KiB) Viewed 393 times
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 999
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Wed Sep 02, 2020 12:39 am

Hi Kevin,

Okay new version online for you to take a look at: https://tonyredhead.s3-ap-southeast-2. ... ndex.html

On the desktop, it opens the iframe into the same window on a device with 'touch' it opens in a new tab.

I've created a new variable, 'opt_url_ipad', that is used in conjunction with the polygon hotspot.

video_gamma9.jpg
video_gamma9.jpg (877.25 KiB) Viewed 371 times

I've exposed the variable so it's can be toggled on and off in the 'Edit Skin Configuration' window. It's set to on by default. If you don't want it to open a new tab in the iPad just uncheck it.

video_gamma10.jpg
video_gamma10.jpg (109.34 KiB) Viewed 371 times

I've attached an updated skin file, just replace the old one with this one.

cheers,

Tony
Attachments
KR_silhoutte.ggsk
(77.03 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
User avatar
KRitchie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Wed Sep 02, 2020 2:44 am

Hey Tony. thanks for the updated project. I was just testing your link and noticed that on my iPad when the Web URL polygon is pressed it opens a new tab with the URL in a full page, but it also launches the URL in an iFrame in the original page.

- Kevin
User avatar
KRitchie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:28 am

So I found a way to keep the iframe from opening in the original browser window. Not sure if it is the most elegant way to program it - so definitely open to hearing other options. In the WEB-URL container, I added two mouse click actions that change variables resulting in the iframe closing. So I think what is actually happening is the iframe probably opens and then closes right away, but the user will never see it because it is covered by the new tab.

Is it alright to have this many Actions on one element in a skin? Seems to be a lot going on here.
Screen Shot 2020-09-01 at 9.19.08 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-01 at 9.19.08 PM.png (494.5 KiB) Viewed 349 times
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 999
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:40 am

Hi Kevin,

Oops, didn't look at the page under the new tab :P

Try this link and let me know if this is working on iPad and Desktop:

https://tonyredhead.s3-ap-southeast-2.a ... index.html

Had to add another variable to manage the status of the iPad.

Tony
Attachments
KR_silhoutte_2.ggsk
(77.09 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
User avatar
KRitchie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Wed Sep 02, 2020 4:38 am

Hey Tony so that is working now - but of course now I have another issue. Everything works great on the desktop. On the iPad, once I click a polygon hotspot, it opens a new tab (which is great), after I close that tab and go back to my original window, the polygons do not display the tooltip anymore. They still hight light when I press on the screen, but the tooltip is gone.
User avatar
Tony
Posts: 999
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Wed Sep 02, 2020 5:16 am

Hi,

Yes, the issue was that we were hiding the tooltip but on the desktop, you have the close button to reset it. Now it doesn't hide the tooltip if you are on the iPad opening in a new tab.

https://tonyredhead.s3-ap-southeast-2.a ... index.html


Check out the new skin KR_silhoutte_3.ggsk

Tony
Attachments
KR_silhoutte_3.ggsk
(77.11 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/
User avatar
KRitchie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Wed Sep 02, 2020 5:40 am

Thanks Tony - that did the trick. You are the man!
Post Reply