Load URL in a container from within the skin editor?

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:17 pm

I am looking to add an icon within the skin editor that (OnClick) will load a web page into a container.
How do I go about doing this?
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10832
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:23 pm

Hi,
The button can have a set value action to a text box.
The value can be an iframe that will load the external page.
The web component does this but with point hotspots.
Under the skin, configuration select open the website in an iframe.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:50 pm

My apologies... I'm not sure I understand.

Within the pano, I have hotspots that have an ID of "Website". When those hotspots are clicked it sets the url to what is in the description text area. I'm looking to call up the same ID, only using an image within the skin editor. Once it's clicked I'm hoping I can get it to behave in the same way.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10832
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:58 pm

Before we go any further please can you tell me more about what should happen with this button?
Should it call up the same web page in every node of a different website in different nodes?
What should the customer experience be?
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:06 pm

I've attached a quick screen captured video to help illustrate. I just want to be able to have the image/icon of the game controller that is inside the skin file, to behave exactly like the red button that is first clicked in the video.
Attachments
example.mp4
(4.57 MiB) Downloaded 25 times
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:17 pm

Here is how Pano2VR is showing the websites. (See attached video) The "description" on the hotspot (which has the url) is driving which web page loads into the "Website" container.
Attachments
example_02.mp4
(4.7 MiB) Downloaded 24 times
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:22 pm

So, I guess the question is... How do I add "Description" text (from within the skin editor), to specify the url that will go into the "Website" container to pull up that page?
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10832
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:31 pm

Hi,
Use a set value action, the value is the iframe to the text box.
But you still have not said if it will be the same for all nodes.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:47 pm

I have different nodes for bringing up web pages, & youtube videos. This button would be for the "Website" node.
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:50 pm

Are these the correct settings. Please see attached. Thank you for the help!
Attachments
action_settings_all.png
action_settings_all.png (19.08 KiB) Viewed 596 times
action_settings.png
action_settings.png (24.46 KiB) Viewed 596 times
N43
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:07 pm

Wed Aug 05, 2020 11:39 pm

Any updates on this? Unfortunately, I still haven't been able to get this to work. Thanks!
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3504
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Thu Aug 06, 2020 12:50 am

Please remember most of the tech support live in the UK and Eastern Europe.
Give them some time to respond if you are in a different time zone.

Your profile does not indicate your time zone.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10832
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:02 pm

You could put the URL in the user data, as an example the Source text box.
The button then can have the action mouse click, goto URL $(us).
This means each pano can have a different URL.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Post Reply