How do I reduce file/folder numbers and sizes?

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
Branigan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 3:43 pm

Thu May 21, 2020 1:42 pm

Hi, using Pano2VR Light, exporting a very simple 7 node tour and it's 616 files in 472 folders, even thought it's only 32.3 MB in total.

That's a lot of files and folders, and folders are quite slow to access, especially when some of them just contain more folders with no images.

I initially tested the demo, so I had all the Trial text on everything (just bought it today though) and as it was refreshing the images in the background after the initial load, so the Trial text changed on various segments, but the images and their quality did not. I grabbed screenshots as it was doing this and could not tell the difference between the 'before' and 'after' sections. It seemed like it was loading in 'higher-res' versions that were actually the same res as the 'lower-res' because of the initial size of the panorama.

I'm not using particularly high-res images - 6080x3040 from an Insta360 One X - so I'd be happy to have it just use one, possibly two sets for mobile and desktop and many fewer files.

By contrast, the PTGUI viewer uses 14 images files ( 2 rows of a Hex 'sphere' and a nadir and zenith) and one tiny ' buffer/loading' image all in one folder and I'd like to get it closer to that for speed of loading and navigation.

Where might I start pruning and tuning to get it to only use the optimum number of files/resolutions/folders for the size of panorama I'm using?

Note: I may in future also be using some 30000 x 15000 source 'stitched' images, but I'll probably reduce their final size to 8000x4000 or so to match the others.
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10158
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Thu May 21, 2020 2:42 pm

Hi Branigan,
Multi-resolution will create folders and files.
The way Pano2VR handels multiresolution is the same as MS Deep zoom.
This prevents too many files in one folder which will result in a problem if you're going gigapixel.
As for speed, this is faster than using a single resolution image as the initial load is the resolution best suited for the viewport.
As you zoom higher resolution tiles will get loaded.
If you look into the output and tiles folder you should see the folders in order of nodes in the tour, then cube faces, I know it says cf 6 but that's the preview track.
Then inside each cube face are the levels for that cube face.

I would always recommend using the highest resolution panoramas you have as this will not slow down the download but will allow for a deeper zoom.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Branigan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 3:43 pm

Thu May 21, 2020 4:07 pm

Thanks for the reply, but could you direct me where to look, or link to the relevant docs page?

BTW, I've been looking through some of the past FAQ and tutorials - on different subjects- and have found a few 404 pages. Can't recall now which they were, but presumably the website has an 'auto-dead-link' look up option?

I'm happy using the resolution I have, there is enough detail to zoom into with the limits it uses and I don't need to go gigapixel. I'd just like it to only use as much data as is required to show the images I'm using as fast as possible and only loading them once for the standard 70 degree FoV.

So where should I look to prune it down to say, 2 depth levels, if it wants to load a smaller 'placeholder' version while the higher-res tiles catch up on a slow connection?

If I can dial it down to looking fairly blurry and one level of detail, then I'd just want to move it up a notch from there.

With the PTGUI viewer it can use tile sizes up of 4000+ pixels wide, where there are 6 of them in a hexagonal circle x2 +nadir+zenith caps, for really close zooming - at the expense of a slow initial load - but for my 6080px wide source panoramas, 800-1000 pixels per tile is more than enough. But there is no navigation with that, it's just a single image viewer.

Speed, rather than detail, is what I'm looking for, with higher-res images as Popup Hotspots where needed.
Branigan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 3:43 pm

Thu May 21, 2020 4:56 pm

Never mind, found the Multi-image option and turned it off. :)

OK, now tuning to the 'correct size' produces some issues. Image width was 1520px ( 6080 width /4 cube sides) with an 'Optimum' option of 685px.

685 turned out very blurry and low-res, so optimum in what way?

I worked my way up through 1000 to 1200, to 1400 and decided that looked almost the same, so I've stuck with that at a small size saving. Left quality at 90.

Problems on the way were that at 1200 and 1000 the stitching wasn't working properly and seams were showing duplicated sections.
Post Reply