HTML Page title not showing variables anymore

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:56 am

Hi,

I recently rebuild an old tour with the latest Pano2VR version 6.1.2 pro 64bit on windows 10, and I noticed that the tours do not have the HTML Page Title anymore in the browser TAB.
I do not know exactly what version it went wrong but I did a quick check in the html template file.

In the Output field in HTML I select the normal.ggt template and when I edit the settings I put in the "HTML Page Title" ..... I have the variable text "$(upt)" to have the node title in the browser TAB. This setting resulted in the old versions in a <title><HTML Page Title></title> line in the index.html output file. This is no longer working in the newest version. It looks like all variables are not working anymore, only when I put there a plain textIine I get the string between the <title></title> line.

Could this be a bug in the latest version ?

Regards,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10321
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:54 pm

Hi Arjan,
The HTML page title can be set in one of two ways.
By default, it will use the Project User data title, but of course, for a single node project, you can not access this.
SO you would go to the HTML tab or the HTML5 output. Then select the Edit Template button (small button next to the normal.ggt).
Then you will see HTML page Title: $(upt)
Replace this with your page title.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:44 pm

Hi Hopki,

That is what I actually do and did for years, but now in the recent versions only when I put a plain text string in there it comes true. When I use
$(upt) in there it is not appaering in the html file, the resulting name of the TAb is the (most of the time) very long path to the tour instead of the short title I useally have.
I have tested it in the latest 6.1.8 version .....

Regards,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10321
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Jun 15, 2020 9:19 pm

Hi Arjan,
Can you give me an example of the title text you are using?
I tested this today and all working for me?
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:46 am

That is exactly the same as the example you gave " $(upt) ".
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10321
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:19 pm

Hi Arjan,
Please see this video: https://support.ggno.me/forum_projects/Arjan.mp4
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Jun 16, 2020 3:39 pm

Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10321
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Jun 16, 2020 5:04 pm

Hi Arjan,
I see what you're doing, so from the top...
You use the Project User Data to set the title, please see 0:53 time stamp in my video.

This means the page title is taken from the Projects User Data Title and which can now be different from the individual node titles.
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Tue Jun 16, 2020 5:30 pm

Ah .... ok .... this is new to me, when was this "project user data" menu added ? I have never noticed that "Edit Project User Data" button at the bottom of the "User Data" field.
I have always put the project title in the Title field of the first node, it then appeared in the Label-title.

Ok I see that it is working now with the title moved to the Project User Data.

What is the added value of that menu above the User Data that has been filled in for every node ?
Why (besides the label title now) should I fill this in and where is it used for elsewhere ?

Regards,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
skyfocus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:52 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:41 am

I am experimenting with this project title but I see something happening. When setting this "project title", all the node titles are set to that same title.
I have several tours which are build with a lot of sub-tours. With the direct-node access I was able to open these sub-tours directly.
Now the TAB-label is always the same and I have no way to change it to the Title of the sub-tour node title. Any ideas how to tackle this ?

Regrads,

Arjan
Windows 10 Pro x64, Pano2VR pro V6.1.8 , Browser latest Firefox
Website: http://www.skyfocus.nl/
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10321
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:46 pm

Hi Arjan,
When you add data such as a tile in the Project User Data, also know as the Master Node, it will appear greyed out in every node.
However, you can overtype this in any of the nodes.
This is good for example, Copyright or Author.
With the direct-node access I was able to open these sub-tours directly.
Now the TAB-label is always the same and I have no way to change it to the Title of the sub-tour node title. Any ideas how to tackle this ?
Hummm, are you sure it did this? In v5 the page title was taken from node1, this was hard written in the HTML page so if you used DNA you will still see the same title?
Do you have a tour that does this?
Regards,
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
Post Reply