Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
WingmanMedia
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by WingmanMedia » Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:37 am

May be I am invisible here? I asked for an urgent help and no replies!!

Since nobody cares to help me with a tour not working on any browser on Ipad (see viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13966&sid=bd1048911 ... 8259b17aff ) it looks like it is a problem with the way tours are built.

Just for a test and this topic I created a simple tour with one single panorama at http://360tours.rf.gd/test/
Please check it with Iphone/Ipad(any browser), Mac(safari) or IE11 on Windows 7 to see there is no panorama shown at all.

There is no custom coding in this test tour, just one panorama with silhouette_v6.ggsk & HTML 5 output.
And the panorama is not shown on my Ipad in any browser(Safari, Firefox, Chrome). Also on Mac it is not shown in Safari but it works in Chrome

Also this tour does not work on Windows 7 laptop with IE11 but works under developer console if switched to IE10, then does not work when it is switched to IE9 The tour works in Chrome on this Win7 laptop though.

On a windows 10 laptop it works under IE11 and it works in Chrome on this Win10 laptop.

What is going on guys? I'd wish I tested it before so I had time to switch to another product. Now I am left with the tour working only on Windows 10 or earlier version but only with Chrome.

User avatar
edgar_ali
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 12:00 pm
Location: Autralia
Contact:

Re: Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by edgar_ali » Wed Sep 25, 2019 4:57 am

Definitely should work in iOS...however tried in my iPhone and your tour does not work...

I am not sure why...

WingmanMedia
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by WingmanMedia » Wed Sep 25, 2019 5:20 am

I have removed the skin completely and even set Image to single resolution to get read of complicated folder names created for tiles.
Then uploaded all files back to http://360tours.rf.gd/test/ and it is still black and no panorama.

So technically it should act as a viewer for a single panorama which it does not want to load that panorama at all. It happens on Ipad 12.4.1(four browsers I tested) and it does not work on Win 7(Edge or IE11) My Pano2VR is 6.0.6 pro 64bit

I have checked some tours posted on the forum. All of them work in my Ipad but it does not mean anything as they could be created with previous versions of Pano2VR.

WingmanMedia
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by WingmanMedia » Wed Sep 25, 2019 6:04 am

When I use an emulator for developers on Edge and select Apple Saffari(Ipad) it actually works on Edge

And another problem that is happening along with all described here. Music does not play on Ipad and on Win7 with edge.

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 808
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by Tony » Wed Sep 25, 2019 7:25 am

Hi Wingman,
May be I am invisible here? I asked for an urgent help and no replies!
As someone who provides a lot of support in this forum (for no monetary gain just love of the software) I have to say that after reading your comment I felt like letting you resolve your own issue. Being demanding won't help you.
What is going on guys? I'd wish I tested it before so I had time to switch to another product
If you are going to promise a client a deliverable without being fully conversant in the operation and delivery of your product you are asking for trouble. Do you really think switching to another product is going to be any better?

That said...

Okay so you've created two tours and both are showing the same issue on iOS, no panoramas. There are hundreds of projects being created with Pano2VR on a daily basis and for the majority of us this issue doesn't seem to arise.

Q. Have you tried testing it using the Integrated Web Server and loading it into Safari. (FYI your url doesn't open the panos in my desktop Safari)

I see you are hosting your site on InfinityFree.

Q. Have you tried hosting the Pano2VR tour on a different server to test if it's an issue with the server or not?

If you don't have an alternate server if you zip up the whole output and send it to me I'll test it on my server.

If I look at the files you are delivering on Safari and Firefox I can see a possible issue in the way the 'content-type' is being resolved by the different browsers. In the first image, Safari, you can see the content-type for the image R0010101_o_2.jpg is text/html

grab75.jpg
grab75.jpg (399.25 KiB) Viewed 321 times

In the second image, Firefox, you can see the content-type for the image R0010101_o_2.jpg is image/jpeg

grab76.jpg
grab76.jpg (1.02 MiB) Viewed 321 times

Now, I'm not by any means, someone who really understands server setups but this is about the only issue I can find. So my suggestion is try another server to either confirm this issue or eliminate it and we can investigate further.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

WingmanMedia
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by WingmanMedia » Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:52 am

Sorry Tony, I could not see how I could offend you(or anybody else) asking for an urgent response.

I did it because almost all my previous topics on the forum went unanswered so with this new one it did not look like coincidence.

Back to topic, thanks for your advice to change a server. I could not find anything free fast to deploy a project for the client to see it before release. InfinityFree was the only one with a ftp access that I found quick. To be honest I do not like it myself because for some reason it takes from 4 to 6 hours to upload only 120Mb tour to them via ftp. So every update/fix is a huge pain.

If you can recommend any free hosting that is proven to work with tours viewed on IPad I will be more than happy to switch.
Especially based on what is happening now after I tested it on my own ISS(windows web server) I know I need another hosting 100%.

I was trying to deploy ISS before and test it from my Ipad over my LAN but could not get pass some ports. Since I was not even sure a web server could affect anything spending more time on it just to eliminate it as a reason did not look right back then.

Now after you mentioned there may be a problem with an InfinityFree web server itself I spent some time and finally setup my own web server and put the client project there. Now I can access my local server running on Windows 10 from my ipad and everything loads perfectly.


Anyway, your single advice to check a web server have solved all hassles I have had with running the tour from the Ipad. Thanks a lot for it.

I do have more questions especially about running the same tour offline from either an Ipad or an android tablet. I will create a new topic to discover some options for it including the ones found through search on the forum.

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 808
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by Tony » Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:23 am

I did it because almost all my previous topics on the forum went unanswered so with this new one it did not look like coincidence.
Just remember official support is handled via support@ggnome.com
If you can recommend any free hosting that is proven to work with tours viewed on IPad I will be more than happy to switch.
I and a number of other panoramic photographers use Amazon S3 for our hosting. I have some tutorials that will get you up to speed in no time.

Create an AWS Account https://tonyredhead.com/amazon-s3/create-aws-account and Configure S3 for 360˚ Panoramas https://tonyredhead.com/amazon-s3/configure-s3-360
I do have more questions especially about running the same tour offline from either an Ipad or an android tablet. I will create a new topic to discover some options for it including the ones found through search on the forum.
Check out the offline solution for iOS and Android at http://360appmaker.com

cheers,

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

WingmanMedia
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Are Pano2VR tours supposed to work on Ipad/Mac?

Post by WingmanMedia » Thu Sep 26, 2019 1:16 am

Thank you Tony. I had a look at this tool before finding it through search on the forum.

Can you please clarify two things for it:

1)is your Offline one time $99(plan) fee just for one project(one Android app & one IOS app) or I can create as many offline apps as I want?

2)When I want to make an app for a tour done in Pano2VR, do I just use only panoramas from the Pano2VR project and create a new tour under an app using its design controls from your app or I can actually integrate the whole Pano2VR project into an app created by 360appmaker and may be just make some small changes to it?

BTW, I moved my client project to my friend's server at http://www.steus.net and it loads just fine from an IPad.

As for hosting with Amazon, I am aware about it from my friend. I even tried to sign up to it yesterday but got lost on their page where they ask credit cards details. It seemed yesterday that I would need to read their T&C to make sure it is free.

In regards of hosting a tour, I'd prefer my clients to host their tours on their own web server to get all benefits of user engagements from a tour for their business website SEO. Most of them do not get it, letting 360 photographers to host it on their own or some 3rd party websites. This way the clients loose all benefits for their website SEO. So hosting a tour on some free/paid hosting is only for testing by my clients and updates/fixes that my client want me to implement before they will get the full working tour done the way they want.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 7 guests