Chrome does not display Pano's

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
DDittmann
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 6:14 pm

Chrome does not display Pano's

Post by DDittmann » Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:35 pm

First Post...2 year Pano2VR User. Since Pano2VR 5.0 all my Single Pano's and/or Tours never worked using Chrome. Hot spots show up, but the screen is either Grey or Black. Is there a setting within Pano2VR that I'm missing here? Using 6.06 now - 64 Bit with newest Chrome. Still the same issue!!! All 2VR HTML Output settings are default and using desktop. Local host defaults to IE explorer and displays OK, but when opening any of the Index.HTML files located in Output folders using Chrome brings up the Grey or Black screen. Please don't tell me this is a Java script issue!! Any info would be helpful. Thanks,
Attachments
Pano2.jpg
This is the Template Tool Box Setting
Pano2.jpg (78.01 KiB) Viewed 202 times
Pano1.jpg
This is the HTML settings
Pano1.jpg (74.04 KiB) Viewed 202 times
Darryl Dittmann

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Chrome does not display Pano's

Post by Hopki » Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:44 pm

Hi Darryl,
If you are trying to open the HTML page from the output folder then this is correct.
Browsers will not allow scripts to run locally, Pano2VR like most Panorama players uses JavaScripts.
Once uploaded to a server then all is ok as the files are no longer local.

This is why Pano2VR has a built-in web server so you can see the outputs when using Pano2VR.
If you want to reliably display your panoramas and tours on your desktop then please use our free Package Viewer.

Regards,
Hopki

DDittmann
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 6:14 pm

Re: Chrome does not display Pano's

Post by DDittmann » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:14 pm

Got it Hopki...thanks for quick response. I always look for and follow your responses on other issues. I was hoping for a simple solution to allow Chrome to work locally like MS IE does. I deliver all the Output folders to my US Navy Clients copied to their local computers, and use Hyperlinks to HTML files in Excel app to pull up and view over 500 tour Pano's for each space on the entire ship. Works perfect in MS IE as default browser. Working with Corp IT guys now to migrate all Pano's and App to new WEB version, in which Chrome works fine. The Excel App used locally was easy delivery solution that I could manage to the Client on my own, without involving Corp IT. I noticed Edge and IE still work fine locally without loading Package Viewer on each User computer. Was just curious why Chrome doesn't.
Darryl Dittmann

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Chrome does not display Pano's

Post by Hopki » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:27 pm

Hi Darryl,
Both Firefox and MS Edge worked until Firefox's last update.
I can only guess but I would say MS Edge will follow if this is that much or a security issue.
Regards,
Hopki

Howard
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:58 am

Re: Chrome does not display Pano's

Post by Howard » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:06 am

Firefox WILL work locally if you alter a hidden setting, as described in a previous post.

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Chrome does not display Pano's

Post by Hopki » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:11 pm

Hi,
Yes, and so can Safari and I belave also Chrome, but not by default.
If this is just for you to view locally then all good, but you are leaving yourself open to security issues and why this is on by default.
And of course anyone you share the output to also will need the settings changed in their browser.
Regards,
Hopki

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests