Page 1 of 1

Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:33 am
by 1uv3
Hi All,

I have been at this for over an hour so figure I'd ask for some assistance. The concept is simple:

Add an image to the skin.
When the image is clicked on the mobile devices dialer opens with preloaded number.

Voila!

I have tried adding the basic html that I would typically use on a website

Code: Select all

<a href="tel:123-456-7890"><img src="/damn/image/wont/show.png"></a>
but the image doesn't show regardless if it's absolute path or folder path.

Any suggestions? Thanks!

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:01 pm
by 1uv3
I also tried uploading the tour to my server thinking that maybe the image was not showing due to some dumb chrome policy but that didn't work either. The code is good, copied it directly from my website which when clicked on while using my mobile device works as expected, just doesn't work in the tour.

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:14 pm
by 1uv3
Was able to use a workaround that did the trick :-)

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 1:28 pm
by Tony
Check out this post. I'd be interested to hear about your workaround?

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12032&p=49715&hilit ... ber#p49715

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:47 am
by 1uv3
UPDATED VIDEO LINK

DAMNIT!!!!!!

I just spent literally about an hour writing out how I did this......was in between life and writing here on the forums.....after I was ALL DONE AND PRESSED SUBMIT..... everything vanished and I had to log back in!!!! HAha!!!!1 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

This time I am creating a video :-) and here she is......
https://youtu.be/7l-oBpcJGtQ

This is the code I used from my website:

Code: Select all

<font size="7"><a href="tel:+1-800-555-1212">O</a></font>
Take note of the O that is the link. I used the O because my icon is round so as long as it covers most of the phone icon then it's good to go. Just needed to adjust the size of the O letter to fit over the icon.

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:03 am
by Tony
Hi,

Doing well down under, working on the house and other things.

Yeah, I've lost a couple of posts like you did, pain in the butt.

Thanks for the video good to see how you've done it.

cheers,

Tony

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:37 pm
by Hopki
Hi Guys,
You can use a GoTo URL action.
The small rectangle has the action:

Source: Mouse Click
Action: Go to URL
URL: tel: +441206734111
Target: _self

Tested on the Mac, open Facetime, iPhone opens the dialer.

IMG_8453.PNG
IMG_8453.PNG (292.38 KiB) Viewed 143 times
Regards,
Hopki

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:55 am
by Hopki
Also just tested on Android to be sure, 👌
Regards,
Hopki

Re: Button To Open Mobile Dialer?

Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:07 pm
by 1uv3
Damn.....that's WAY easier Hopki! Thanks for the info!!!1