Can't see the preview panorama

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
Bostjan
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:06 pm

Can't see the preview panorama

Post by Bostjan » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:43 am

I use 16-bit tiff images when creating a virtual tour with p2VR. I didn't notice it before but now when I am resampling older tours I have noticed that I can't see preview panoramas but only black/blank image. When I convert the same images (which were with older versions of P2VR with o.k. preview) to 8-bit tiff than I can see the preview. It is a bit annoying as my workflow is now with the additional step: converting 16 bit > 8 bit .
The problem is only with the preview as when compiled then it is o.k. But I need the preview to implement the navigation hotspots.

User avatar
1uv3
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:18 pm

Re: Can't see the preview panorama

Post by 1uv3 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 5:47 pm

I can confirm this. Pano2vr 6 + 16 bit tiff = no preview image.
Creative expression is the Universe's only way of experiencing every configurative atomic possibility capable within a finite Universe.

User avatar
thomas
Site Admin
Posts: 2489
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Can't see the preview panorama

Post by thomas » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:21 pm

I tired to reproduce this, but for me everything looks normal... Where exactly is the preview missing? The skin on output? The preview while the panorama is loading? In the Pano2VR users interface? Can you please provide a screen shot to guide me to the right direction.
MfG, Thomas

Bostjan
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:06 pm

Re: Can't see the preview panorama

Post by Bostjan » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:39 pm

Here it is the example, ... like VR excursion from year 2004 (15 years ago)
Image

User avatar
thomas
Site Admin
Posts: 2489
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: Can't see the preview panorama

Post by thomas » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:41 pm

Ahhh....are you using Intel graphics cards? There is a known issue with Intel graphics cards that will be fixed with Pano2VR 6.0.3. Currently 16 bit image and cylindrical images don't show up.
MfG, Thomas

Bostjan
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:06 pm

Re: Can't see the preview panorama

Post by Bostjan » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:45 pm

Same preview "black window" in P2Vr interface with any 16-bit tif image... made 20 years ago or today. When the 16-bit image is converted to 8-bit than the preview is o.k. It doesn't affect the final output but it is impossible to set the hotspots.
I use NVIDIA graphic on high end graphic stations - I have eight with various graphic NVIDIA cards.
The cylindrical was just the example of old one but it is same with equi.(s) too.

Bostjan
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:06 pm

Re: Can't see the preview panorama

Post by Bostjan » Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:56 am

I did some "digging in"... PC was with installed dual graphic card and due the energy saving (mobile graphic station) set to automatic use of graphic card. The software didn't recognise the need for "the power graphic card" so it was used the low energy consumption card - intel.
I set the NVIDIA to be the forced graphic card and than it was ok. It is just a bit annoying as I need to switch the card on manually when I wan't to use p2VR.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests