Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
tksharpless
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:24 pm

Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by tksharpless » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:08 pm

Hi, this is surely not a P2VR problem, but I hope someone can help me.

A tour from 2015, with sound, plays as expected from my local archive using krpano testing server. However with
Apache (Wamp server) it has no sound when accessed from the same machine, either as localhost or by IP address.
When accessed from another machine on the LAN, both krpano and Apache provide sound.

I uploaded it to a new website -- http://tksharpless.net/tallships/hermione-2015/ -- and it plays without sound.
All the original files are there.

I am not web-savvy enough to diagnose this behavior; but I do want the web page to play with sound. Any suggestions?

tksharpless
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:24 pm

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by tksharpless » Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:51 pm

UPDATE the problem seems limited to Chrome. 3 other Windows browsers (Firefox, IE and Edge)play the page with sound.

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by Tony » Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:56 pm

Hi,

To be able to add a button and start the audio/video you need to be running V6.02 as Hopki explains in this post;

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13344&p=55953&hilit ... ome#p55953

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

tksharpless
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:24 pm

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by tksharpless » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:43 am

Thanks,Tony
Is it possible to update my old tours to v6 without rebuilding them from scratch?

tksharpless
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:24 pm

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by tksharpless » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:48 am

ALSO Chrome does play the old tour right under some circumstances -- namely on the LAN with a local server. So there must be some work around that does not involve modifying the tour at all.

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by Tony » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:13 am

tksharpless wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:43 am
Is it possible to update my old tours to v6 without rebuilding them from scratch?
I see it was built in 5.0beta so you can just open that in V6 and re-publish it.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by Tony » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:18 am

tksharpless wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:48 am
ALSO Chrome does play the old tour right under some circumstances -- namely on the LAN with a local server.
Google may only apply the sound restriction to files served across the web. Also the restrictions are relaxed if user has frequently played media on the site.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9373
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by Hopki » Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:21 pm

Hi Guys,
I remember seeing somewhere that the viewer must use a button to start the sound and it must be played for longer than seven seconds.
The viewer must repeat this by visiting the website more than 5 times or so.
Then after the required number of visits the next time the site is visited the will auto play.
I do get it as I cannot count the number of sites that blast out sound when I visited them but does cause problems for tour developers.
Regards,
Hopki

tksharpless
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:24 pm

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by tksharpless » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:16 pm

Cripes! Sounds like Apple rules. I hope someone cracks this stupid restriction in Chrome. Or they give it up due to public outrage.

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Lost sound after uploading old tour to new wesite

Post by Tony » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:04 pm

Hopki wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:21 pm
I remember seeing somewhere that the viewer must use a button to start the sound and it must be played for longer than seven seconds.
The viewer must repeat this by visiting the website more than 5 times or so.
Then after the required number of visits the next time the site is visited the will auto play.
The following is from the Google Developers page https://developers.google.com/web/updat ... cy-changes

New behaviors
As you may have noticed, web browsers are moving towards stricter autoplay policies in order to improve the user experience, minimize incentives to install ad blockers, and reduce data consumption on expensive and/or constrained networks. These changes are intended to give greater control of playback to users and to benefit publishers with legitimate use cases.

Chrome's autoplay policies are simple:

Muted autoplay is always allowed.

Autoplay with sound is allowed if:
  • User has interacted with the domain (click, tap, etc.).
  • On desktop, the user's Media Engagement Index threshold has been crossed, meaning the user has previously play video with sound.
  • On mobile, the user has [added the site to their home screen].
  • Top frames can delegate autoplay permission to their iframes to allow autoplay with sound.
Media Engagement Index (MEI)
The MEI measures an individual's propensity to consume media on a site. Chrome's current approach is a ratio of visits to significant media playback events per origin:
  • Consumption of the media (audio/video) must be greater than 7 seconds.
  • Audio must be present and unmuted.
  • Tab with video is active.
  • Size of the video (in px) must be greater than 200x140.
From that, Chrome calculates a media engagement score which is highest on sites where media is played on a regular basis. When it is high enough, media playback is allowed to autoplay on desktop only.

You can check your MEI at the chrome://media-engagement internal page.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 15 guests