Add an Image Popup not working

Q&A about the latest versions
chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:21 pm

I'm working in version 6 and trying to simply add an image hidden by the photo icon so that the photo is concealed until the user clicks the icon. I followed the directions at https://ggnome.com/doc/pano2vr/beta/add-image-popup/; however, when I output the file, the photo still sits on the wall rather than the little image icon. Can anyone help?

User avatar
k.ary.n
Gnome
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:02 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by k.ary.n » Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:14 pm

Which component did you use? (step 8.)

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:43 pm

Image
Attachments
Screenshot 2018-11-14 10.41.59.png
Screenshot 2018-11-14 10.41.59.png (139.12 KiB) Viewed 819 times

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9598
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by Hopki » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:50 pm

hummm,
Does sound odd,
The steps are:
• open your project and select the hotspot mode
• double click and add your hotspot and set it to type image and make sure the Skin-ID is ht_image, then use the blue folder to select teh image that will popup
• open the skin and using the components tool box to add the image popup component
Export and it should work ok.
Project attached.
Regards,
Hopki
Attachments
image_popup.zip
(18.42 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:37 pm

Thanks, Hopki. I'm afraid that I don't understand how to "...make sure the Skin-ID is ht_image, then use the blue folder to select the image that will popup."

I see the ht_image in the skins editor, along with the blue folder for image popup, but I have no idea how to make settings for particular images as you seem to be directing. Are these settings in the Image Properties window?

Sorry for my inexperience! I wish that these things were easier to learn from the documentation and videos (which see out of date).

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9598
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by Hopki » Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:44 pm

Hi,
OK I think we need two rewind and nail down what it is you are after.
Are you looking to have an image hotspot that when clicked displays an image.

Or do you want a pinned image hidden behind a point hotspot that when clicked pops out 100%.
Two very different things.

I have attached two projects that do both, one is a popout and the other slides out a pinned picture.
Regards,
Hopki
Attachments
imagepop.zip
(161.09 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:02 pm

I'd be happy to have either work. I suppose I prefer the pinned image hidden behind a point hotspot popping out to 100%

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:13 pm

I got the simple point hotspot with hidden picture to work, and that's good enough for what I need to do. Thanks, Hopki. ...Now I'll post my next question!

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Fri Nov 23, 2018 7:22 pm

Okay. Good news: I got the single-point hotspot to work with an image in the program and when I load it locally. Unfortunately, it won't load when access from my web site online. the spinning dots in a greyed screen circle endlessly. What might be the problem?

User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3356
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by 360Texas » Fri Nov 23, 2018 8:53 pm

Just guessing. Maybe its a PATH to the image location. The server is looking for the image ?

Did you place the image in the same folder both on local folder and on your website folder.

Or maybe the image did not get uploaded to your sever website folder.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:38 pm

Still stumped... I only have 3 pop-up images linked to single-point hotspots and they are all built the same way with the same basic settings. One of these works well locally and online, popping up immediately when the image icon is clicked. The other two simply don't. I don't see any pathway issues....

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9598
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by Hopki » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:54 pm

Hi,
I think it's time to see your project as this does not make sense.
Can you share your project, support@ggnome.com if you don't want to share it in the forum but please also include a reference to this post.
Regards,
Hopki

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:20 am

Here's the project file:
Panos-Final.p2vr
(58.27 KiB) Downloaded 26 times

chrispaulis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by chrispaulis » Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:24 am

Hopki,

This is also the project on which the GPS doesn't autorotate on mobile, despite my attempt to create a container with action set as you described. Can you take a look at that and see what I'm doing wrong, here, as well?

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9598
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Add an Image Popup not working

Post by Hopki » Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:13 pm

Hi,
When I say project, I meant the project, not just the project file.
xxx.p2vr
xxx.ggsk
Panoramas.

I need to be able to reproduce your output.

The best thing to do is go to File settings and select Save with assets.
The zip that up and send to support@ggnome.com wit reference to this post.
Regards,
Hopki

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests