pano2vr v6 strip image option

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
oli
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:33 am
Location: London

pano2vr v6 strip image option

Post by oli » Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:17 pm

Hi,

Will we have any option to choose the order of the images composing the strip when importing?

Using 3dsmax and arnold renderer, there are options to render vr images :
cubemap 6x1
cubemap 3x2

for now pano2vr cannot import cubemap 3x2
and cubemap 6x1 which is strip in pano2vr, does not have the same ordering faces as in pano2vr

So do you plan to have an option to choose an ordering sequence for cubemap strip?

olivier

User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3313
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Re: pano2vr v6 strip image option

Post by 360Texas » Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:02 pm

? Are you using Pano2vr OR Object2VR ?

Using Pano2vr version 5.2.3

I know that we can create from a equi-rectangle image to output cube faces in different orders. Any possibility you can output to single image cube faces ... then by renaming them put them in the proper re-sequence ?

Here are annotate strip picture showing Left, back, etc
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=11012

Documentation: https://ggnome.com/wiki/Converting_Images_%28Pano2VR%29
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com

oli
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:33 am
Location: London

Re: pano2vr v6 strip image option

Post by oli » Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:34 pm

Thanks 360Texas,

I alrerady know that I can use pano2vr to output an equi to what ever.
I just wanted to know if in the next version of pano2vr (v6) there will be some options to "personalise" the strip image input.
It was more a question to the dev team.

thanks

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9015
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: pano2vr v6 strip image option

Post by Hopki » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:51 am

Hi olivier,
No plans to do anything with this.
We have two types of 6 x 1 strips we can import.
The standard strip and the one all the VR headsets started using.
If these are no good can you send in a 3 x 2 and a 6 x 1 to support@ggnome.com with a reference to this post and ill write up a feature request to support these images.
Regards,
Hopki

oli
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:33 am
Location: London

Re: pano2vr v6 strip image option

Post by oli » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:59 pm

thanks Hopki

oli
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:33 am
Location: London

Re: pano2vr v6 strip image option

Post by oli » Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:55 pm

I did some test in arnold for 3dsmax and here is what I have:
cubemap 6x1 for pano2vr.jpg
cubemap 6x1 for pano2vr.jpg (81.38 KiB) Viewed 186 times
which is ok when I put it in pano2vr and choose stripVR as type.

I did another one and followed the help to have an oculus output:
cubemap 6x1 for pano2vr oculus.jpg
cubemap 6x1 for pano2vr oculus.jpg (81.56 KiB) Viewed 186 times
And that image does not output right in pano2vr. The bottom is not right, it should be like the first image.
Am I wrong or is your help section wrong for the oculus output?

thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests