Page 1 of 1

Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:21 pm
by Emil_GITech
Hi,
I've tried out the gyro function wich is included in the pano2vr settings, unfortunatly it doesn't rotate the "x" axis in my illustration I've put togheter
RotateHelp.jpg
RotateHelp.jpg (42.5 KiB) Viewed 4323 times
In the "cardboard.ggt" template all the "xyz" axes works fine, but in the "normal.ggt" template with the "Include gyroscope control" checked it doesnt seem to registrer the "x" axis.

Is there any fix to get the 360 to rotate along the "x" axis?

Re: Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:38 pm
by 360Texas
Emil_GITech, Welcome to the Forum

Should work properly for devices that have the gyroscope tool on their device like tablets and smart phones.

Please show us your project and we can try it out for ourselves. URL Please.

Great illustrative XYZ graphic !

Re: Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:22 am
by Emil_GITech
Thank you,
https://visualisering.gitech.ax/BomarsundGyro/
heres the test I've done, click the rotation symbol to start the gyro.
But as I said it does just rotate 2 of the axes.

https://ggnome.com/samples/pano2vr_5/tower/
In this example it does rotate the "x" axis

Re: Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 10:26 am
by Emil_GITech
I think I found the solution!

by adding the

Code: Select all

gyro.setUseRoll(true);

in the index file

Like this

Code: Select all

		window.addEventListener("load", function() {
			pano.readConfigUrlAsync("pano.xml",function() {  gyro=new pano2vrGyro(pano,"container");
			gyro.setUseRoll(true);
			gyro.disable(); gyro.setTrueNorth(true);});
		});
Not sure why its not enabled from the beginning, or atleast toggleable.

Re: Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:57 pm
by jmish
I found the gyro not reliable with Pano2VR.

Sorry to be so blunt about this matter. But I tried to make work MANY times.

I have the latest version.

I also have another software to create gyro-active panoramas from a competitor and those work without fail.

However pano2VR is my first choice due to make advantages , especially when I am planning an animated VR experience.

so could someone really Help Me and tell me how make that gyro work with the mobile cardboard panoramas, PLEASE?

Re: Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:36 pm
by 360Texas
I guess I would have to ask "what device (tablet, smart phone name and Operating system) and BROWSER name and version are you using that is not working?

We use a Samsung Galaxy s7 edge with Android 6.0.1. AND use Pano2vr 5.0x Pro.

Sometimes its not the code.. its the browser and device.

Re: Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 11:24 am
by jmish
Thank you for your reply.

My device is Samsung Galaxy S4 with android 4.4.2, with the latest Firefox browser (v.47.0) . and I have a scene that was created with the Pano2vr 5.0 pro.

my device is hardly the case nor should it be (hence the fact that people do not have the latest and the greatest devices). my device works fine with another panoramas that was created with another panorama creation software from another developer..

I can show some examples in around 24h or less.

Thank you for your help.

Re: Gyro rotation axis not working?

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:39 pm
by Hopki
Hi Guy's
The gyro will be written into Pano2VR and not just added to the HTML page.
When the developers are looking at doing this then the gyro performance will also be looked at.
I can not say when this will happen but is on the cards.
Regards,
Hopki