Kit Advice

Q&A about the latest versions
fogzo

Hey all,

I'm a web developer just starting out on virtual tours for a personal project and I am looking for advice on what Kit to use, does anyone have any advice on what to look for? I've done quite a bit of research so far and was looking at purchasing the following:

Nikon D7100 with Sigma 8mm lense (has anyone had any experience with using this camera and what are your thoughts on the quality?)
Nodal Ninja R1 + Zenith / Nadir adapter
Tripod - Benro Tripod Classic A2580T Twist lock (would appreciate thoughts on any other reasonably priced tripods)

Also has anyone had any tried to create a tour which would work with the google cardboard?

Cheers in advance for the advice :)
hum@no.id

Nikon D7100 + Sigma 8mm = good solution
Nikon D7200 + Sigma 8mm = best solution

Nikon D7100 + Sigma 8mm
http://gumirj.com/index.php?fullarticle=7
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj
fogzo

Thanks for the examples and love the tour!

Do you use the Nodal Ninja R1? and do you need the Zenith / Nadir adapter to capture both zenith & nadir?

Cheers
cblane

Choosing you first (or any) setup depends on many factors including how you plan on using the panoramas , what kind of panoramas, what else you intend to use the camera for, and budget. Some things to consider:

If you don't need very high resolution panoramas for a specific reason, 16MP sensors are fine. For websites, 360 panos can become very heavy and slow-loading so you'll find yourself downsizing to keep load times for users reasonable. I never post panoramas at full resolution on-line