Gyroscope weird rotations in 4.5, no rotation at all in 5.0

Q&A about the latest versions
MisterGasman
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:28 pm

Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:41 pm

Hi all,
I tried for the first time the gyroscope in pano2Vr (enabled the function fcourse in html settings)...and still trying to make it work after 6 hours without luck!
The result i got is: in 4.5 (latest version) the rotation suddenly flips at multiple points when moving around...doesn't make sense?
In 5.0.3 i dont get any movement although 'gyroscope' is selected (trial), what am i doing wrong?

I tried on ipad/nexus tablet with android/smartphone with android and on browsers firefox/chrome/opera/...
The only time the rotation works properly is on the tablet in PORTRAIT mode in browser FIREFOX! But ONLY in that combination.
So is the gyroscope script not reading the data from the device properly?
I tried one of the competitions panorama's...didn't get these flippings/weird rotations, worked pretty good.

Also why doesnt it work in v5?

Hope someone can help me out. We need to make panoramas for a world war 1 site which can be used interactively on site.
Thanks!
MisterGasman
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:28 pm

Tue Sep 22, 2015 4:15 pm

So nobody has this problem?
Did people managed to use the gyroscope properly?
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10340
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:47 pm

Ill have a look tomorrow when I'm back in the office.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
MisterGasman
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:28 pm

Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:22 am

Hopki wrote:Ill have a look tomorrow when I'm back in the office.
Regards,
Hopki
Great, thanks!
We made already several applications for museum purpose with succes using Object2Vr.
Now that we need an application with panoramas and gyroscope, we hope we can use pano2Vr, also because we can use the skin of our Object2Vr applications (multi language selection, GUI etc).
So before we invest in the Pano pro version, it of course need to work for us.
User avatar
k.ary.n
Gnome
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:02 pm

Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:50 pm

Hi!

I just quickly tested this on v4 and v5 and it's working in iOS 9 (in both chrome and safari) as expected. However, there is some flipping happening at the polars. In v5 the nadir is fine, but in v4.5 it's flipping at both the nadir and zenith. This bug has been reported.

For v5:
Do you have Disable on start up selected? If so, you'll need a button to turn it on once it's loaded.

Also: In v5 you can now add the javascript code the URL field: To toggle the gyro on and off with the Action > Go to URL and in the URL field add:

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.toggle();
Enable/Disable Gryo would be:

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.enable();

Code: Select all

javascript:gyro.disable();
MisterGasman
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:28 pm

Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:41 am

Hi,
For the moment i tested the v5 (anyway newest version so most important) on android,
without succes. I made a new project with just 1 panorama, 1 google maps window and 1 rectangle.
The rectangle has mouse over/click functions that triggers url like you said 'javascript:gyro.enable();'
When i build and run on android, tested with any browser, no gyroscope movement.
I added screenshots of setup + my sample project.

Would be great if we could find the problem here.
Thanks a lot

Dries
Attachments
Panorama test.rar
Project + export
(8.29 MiB) Downloaded 39 times
Screenshot 2- skin settings
Screenshot 2- skin settings
test2.JPG (132.99 KiB) Viewed 3483 times
Screenshot 1- gyroscope settings
Screenshot 1- gyroscope settings
test1.JPG (60.67 KiB) Viewed 3483 times
Tong
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:30 pm

Mon Sep 28, 2015 7:57 am

beta3a no gyro on androin nexus 7
MisterGasman
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:28 pm

Tue Sep 29, 2015 4:26 pm

ok, it seems actually that firefox is messing up the gyroscope. On Chrome etc its working
pLuz
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:37 am

Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:53 pm

Hi!

In version 5 beta 2, there was gyroscope implementation with some weird tilt movements, however in version 5 beta3a, I can't put the gyroscope working at all, even trying the method explained by k.ary.n

By the way, if anyone can help, I'm a newbie in this, where do I put the code
javascript:gyro.toggle();

I understand where I should put the code
javascript:gyro.enable();

but where should I put the code
javascript:gyro.toggle();

thanks




Just a humble suggestion, but why you don't put the gyro function on/off state in the same way that we toggle the google map in the tour, something like;
Source: mouse click
Action: Toggle gyro on/off


pedro luz
MisterGasman
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:28 pm

Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:43 pm

What i posted was just to be 100% sure the gyroscope became active.

Now, it seems the messing up (flipping) of the gyroscope appears when enabling "use true north" in 4.x
Please can anything be done with this...?
I really need the correct north direction!
User avatar
dennisvanduijn
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Gouda, Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:06 pm

A workaround that did it for me: export a gyroscope enabled project with pre-p2vr5b3a and copy the gyro .js file in the main folder of p2vr5b3a projects.
Commercial 360° tours ● Interior photography ● Promotional printing

Image

http://www.okijk.nl
pLuz
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:37 am

Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:51 pm

Hi dennisvanduijn !

Thanks for the tip.

Anyway is there any way to use a single graphical element to enable/disable the gyroscope?

As it stands, we need a graphic for enabling it, and another graphic for disabling it.
The user interface starts to be cluttered.


thanks
User avatar
dennisvanduijn
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Gouda, Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:55 pm

I use two exactly overlapping images. Actions are:

Image 1 - enable gyrsocope - set alpha 0.00 to $self - set alpha 1.00 to Image 2
Image 2 - disable gyrsocope - set alpha 0.00 to $self - set alpha 1.00 to Image 1

For the user, it seems to be one toggling image.
Commercial 360° tours ● Interior photography ● Promotional printing

Image

http://www.okijk.nl
pLuz
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:37 am

Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:36 pm

Hi!

Simplicity, very nice cool tip.
Thanks a lot

pedro from the sailor's road in Asia
User avatar
dennisvanduijn
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Gouda, Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:29 pm

You're welcome Pedro :)
Commercial 360° tours ● Interior photography ● Promotional printing

Image

http://www.okijk.nl
Post Reply