Another odd problem

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Wed May 13, 2015 6:10 pm

Dear all,

A very friendly viewer helped me out with screenshot, instead of just complaining that he has problems on his Windows 7 computer, with both Chrome and Firefox.

Does any of the screenshots below ring a bell where the problem might be? It's not limited to one specific panorama.

Thanks!

Harald

Image

Image

Image

Image
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11132
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Wed May 13, 2015 6:51 pm

Hi Harald,
This looks like what we used to get with old browsers that were not 100% HTML5 compatible.
Iv just tested with a Windows 7 computer and all is ok.
Can you find out which versions of the browsers they have?

My system has Chrome 40.0.2214.91
Firefox 37.0.2

Could also be down to the driver?
Make sure they have the latest for their computer.

Have a look at this page for Firefox: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Blocklisting/B ... cs_Drivers

Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Wed May 13, 2015 10:19 pm

DO NOT use the Mobile tab. Forget about this.
Clear ALL settings in Mobile tab.
Use only Multiresolution.
Attachments
settings.png
settings.png (25.17 KiB) Viewed 3753 times
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Thu May 14, 2015 7:39 am

Don't think it has to be the browser version, it happens with Firefox 37.0.2 and Chrome 42.0.2322.152m, both versions seem to be the latest.

I'm only using Mutiresolution, and haven't used Mobile for ages.

Could it have to do with the Level Tile Size? In one of the examples it's 938.

Thanks!

Harald
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Thu May 14, 2015 9:37 am

Use discrete values 512 / 1024 / 2048
The source equi should be somewhere 10000x5000

*See closely the settings from the screenshot above

___

If you have old hardware - need fix Firefox
settings:
about:config / webgl.force-enabled / value: true
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11132
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Thu May 14, 2015 12:04 pm

Hi,
Did you check their driver?
Can you post a link to the panoramas so we can have a look.
Get them to look on our websites examples page and do they get the same thing?
Windows 7 should be fine so can only be down to out of date graphics drivers or a problem with how the panoramas were made.
That said if it was a problem with your panoramas I would guess you would have lots of different people telling you you have a problem.
If you post the link then perhaps we all can have a look and get closer to what is amiss.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Thu May 14, 2015 1:36 pm

Hi Hopki,

Thanks. The links to the two panoramas that fail are

Swallow
Salford Junction

However, Lincoln College works just fine. All use the same HTML template.

Could the problem be down to a bad internet connection? This one viewer seems to be the only one with that problem!

Harald
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
User avatar
JimWatters
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:16 pm
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick
Contact:

Thu May 14, 2015 2:45 pm

My parents computer had a similar problem with one of my panoramas. Maybe others but I did not have a chance to check.
Before I could show up and check it out their very old graphics card died and they replaced it. Problem went away.

Looking at the xml file for your examples.
Lincoin College uses tile sizes of 624
Saliford Juntion uses tile sizes of 864
Swallow using tile sizes of 938

Try reducing the Saliford and Swallow tile sizes by half.
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Fri May 15, 2015 10:02 am

Hi Jim,

Thanks! I tried that (halving the tile size), of course it quadrupled the number of tiles.

The viewer that has the problem cleared the browser cache before trying it out, but it didn't make any difference other than taking longer to load.

It's odd that it happens with some but not all of my panoramas, but this viewer is the only one that has ever mentioned such an issue. Perhaps it's an old graphics card?

Harald
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11132
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Fri May 15, 2015 11:17 am

Hi Harald,
What is needed is customer confidence that your work is ok.
Very rarely will customers/viewers admit that their computer may be a fault.
The best thing to do in cases like this is get the user to look at examples on our or other websites.
Do they have the same problems.

Have you "adjusted" the pano2vr.player.js?
I tried to see which versions of the player you are using but the header is missing!
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Fri May 15, 2015 2:17 pm

Hi Hopki,

Thanks! The Pano2VR player doesn't have a version number I can find, it's 69994 bytes in size, and has a file date of Oct 21, 2014.

I don't think the viewer's computer has a serious issue, some of my panoramas work without the problem, some don't.

Panoramic examples from other websites (built with other software) work without a problem.

Is there a new version of pano2vr_player.js that i could try?

Best regards

Harald
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Fri May 15, 2015 2:56 pm

Thanks! The Pano2VR player doesn't have a version number I can find, it's 69994 bytes in size, and has a file date of Oct 21, 2014.
I don't think the viewer's computer has a serious issue, some of my panoramas work without the problem, some don't.
Panoramic examples from other websites (built with other software) work without a problem.
Is there a new version of pano2vr_player.js that i could try?
All legal copies of software Pano2VR generate commented header. Hopki says - in all your JS files header is removed, for whatever any reason...
New player is always available on the website of the developer. The last update in March 2015.

BTW
You have not listened to my advice to use a strictly discrete values of the tiles,well... very vain.. this eliminate such render errors.
Attachments
_ss.png
_ss.png (16.51 KiB) Viewed 3682 times
Gumir J | VR Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +77055717171 | skype: gumirj
website: gumirj.com | google.com/+gumirj | facebook.com/gumirj | twitter.com/gumirj
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 11132
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Fri May 15, 2015 3:39 pm

Hi Harald,
The players on your website are all the same and not the current for version 4.5.3.
Out put your project with Pano2VR V4.5.3 and you will see that in the output folder there will be the pano2vr_player.js file.
Upload this to all projects created with Pano2VR V4.5.3. The right player for the right output is needed.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
HaraldJ
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Contact:

Fri May 15, 2015 4:05 pm

Gumir and Hopki,

Thanks, the problem is now SOLVED!

I replaced the pano2vr_player.js with the latest version, and changed, following Gumir's advice, the tile sizes.

Previously I had been using image width / pi, with 3750 / 1875, and 938 in Multiresolution. I changed that to 4096, 2048, and 1024.

Now it all works nicely - thank you all very much indeed!

Harald
Harald Joergens
Harald Joergens Photography
Nutfield, Surrey, United Kingdom
Post Reply