tours not loading in iframe

Q&A about the latest versions
Post Reply
JNewberry
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Contact:

tours not loading in iframe

Post by JNewberry » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:56 pm

I have multiple, single-view P2vr tours in the slider at the top of this page: https://www.panoramiceye.com

It works fine for me in Firefox and Safari, and the first pano loads fine in Chrome (Mac). But the second and following panos (in slider at top of page) don't load unless I hit "reload frame," or go to the Chrome inspector console. I've tried clearing browser cache, restarting computer etc. Also, I've had the issue confirmed by two other people in different locations (ie, not in my office).

Any help would be appreciated, really want to fix this.

User avatar
thomas
Site Admin
Posts: 2473
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by thomas » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:38 am

It looks like the iframes don't have the correct size on start, or the pano2vr div is not sized correctly if invisible... because just resizing the window fixes the problem.
MfG, Thomas

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by Tony » Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:13 am

Hi,

Using the same slide software I can reproduce the problem on Chrome. The only way to make the iFrames display the content is to rt click on the iFrame and select "Reload iFrame" (Mac)

Thomas, resizing below the display size of the iFrame forces a reload. If you open the page and resize it larger reloading doesn't happen.

I've searched for some Javascript to reload the iFrame but the only one I can get working is one that reloads it over and over again which doesn't work. We need a good JS coder who can write a solid, one time, iFrame reloader script.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

JNewberry
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by JNewberry » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:13 pm

I've searched for some Javascript to reload the iFrame but the only one I can get working is one that reloads it over and over again which doesn't work. We need a good JS coder who can write a solid, one time, iFrame reloader script.

I'll see if I can find one; should be very simple for a coder, right?

Tony, is this a general problem with the way Chrome works with iframes? I'm trying to understand why this is happening...is the slide software (LayerSlider) adding code that's interfering with the loading? I've other sites displaying panos in iframes, but haven't noticed this loading problem before.

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by Tony » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:04 pm

I'll see if I can find one; should be very simple for a coder, right?
I'm not sure, there are a lot of discussions around the web re the issue.
Tony, is this a general problem with the way Chrome works with iframes? I'm trying to understand why this is happening...is the slide software (LayerSlider) adding code that's interfering with the loading? I've other sites displaying panos in iframes, but haven't noticed this loading problem before.
I think the issue is the use of multiple and nested frames. The slideshow contains 3 iFrames and then they are in turn presented in the page in another iFrame so you have a parent iFrame and three child iFrames and possibly this is the issue.

I'm just thinking it may be better to create a skin that replicates the functionality of the slider app.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

JNewberry
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by JNewberry » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:21 pm

I think the issue is the use of multiple and nested frames. The slideshow contains 3 iFrames and then they are in turn presented in the page in another iFrame so you have a parent iFrame and three child iFrames and possibly this is the issue.
That makes sense. I have panos elsewhere on my site that aren't in a slider, but do use iframes, and those are loading without issue.
I'm just thinking it may be better to create a skin that replicates the functionality of the slider app.
Good idea, I'll look into that--with the P2VR skin editor?

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by Tony » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:37 am

Hey Jim,

Check it out!!

https://tonyredhead.com/layerslide-test

Working for me on Chrome on iMac, MacBook Pro and iPad Air 2

I need to double check what i've done and I'll post instructions.

If anyone can check on Windows I'd appreciate it.

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

JNewberry
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by JNewberry » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:23 am

You did it! Works for me on Mac and Windows 10, Chrome browsers.

Looking forward to seeing the instructions; thanks!

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by Tony » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:22 am

Hi Jim,

Sorry just had to do a bit of testing.

Turns out you can't have the same domain for the content of the Layerslide iFrames and the layerside html file.

For instance the domains of my iFrame panos in the Layerslide html are S3 while the domain used in the iFrame on the Squarespace website is on my other server tonyredhead.photography

Does this make sense?

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

JNewberry
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by JNewberry » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:05 pm

Turns out you can't have the same domain for the content of the Layerslide iFrames and the layerside html file.

For instance the domains of my iFrame panos in the Layerslide html are S3 while the domain used in the iFrame on the Squarespace website is on my other server tonyredhead.photography

Does this make sense?
Yes, I understand...weird though, I thought I read somewhere that browsers might not load iframe content if it went to an external URL, for security purposes. In any case, I like your earlier idea of skipping the slider plugin and doing the same thing just with P2VR. Don't know why I didn't think of that before, so simple to just have multiple single tours with arrows at the sides.

Thanks for your work on this!

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 8627
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: tours not loading in iframe

Post by Hopki » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:03 pm

Hi JNewberry,
Looking at you web page you could use a timer that triggers a click so acting like a slideshow.
So adding a play and pause button.
For the SVGs have a look at the Gallery component.
Odd that the fullscreen button is not working?
Regards,
Hopki

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests