panoramas and alpha channel

Specific Q&A about the new Flash export
Locked
jehZen
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:59 pm

Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:18 pm

Hello!

Is there any chance to use alpha with panoramas? I have a cockpit panorama and I want that behind the windows I can show backround (also panorama). When I navigate inside cockpit backround view also moves with it but offcourse littlebit slower because of a perspective. To be clear when camera moves foreground moves faster than backround. It gives nice 3d effect to panorama. So is this possible?
Memento Vivere
User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:17 am

No, because the panorama is stored as JPEG and this format doesn't support alpha channels.
MfG, Thomas
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:56 am

thomas wrote:No, because the panorama is stored as JPEG and this format doesn't support alpha channels.
Are you sure? I have software that allows import of .jpg with alpha channel.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
jehZen
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:59 pm

Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:05 am

Thanks for the answer. Is there any possibility that you update that in new releases? PNG uses alpha so is it difficult to store panorama information in that format?
Memento Vivere
User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:55 pm

Yes there is a special JPEG + alpha format in Flash and it would be possible but it is not an easy or a quick change. Maybe I can add this feature some day but it has no priority at the moment. There are still too many other things missing that I like to implement.
MfG, Thomas
Locked