Detail and file size

Specific Q&A about the new Flash export
Locked
JoyBarclay
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 6:04 pm

Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:36 pm

I'm a little confused about something.
Looking at people's flash panos, I am amazed at the quality. Am I doing something wrong or am I using whats now considered 'old' gear.

I shoot with a Nikon CoolPix 5700 with an FC-E9 and produce a equi image of about 3000 x 1500 pixels.

My output .MOV window size is generally about 360X 240 px and with a quality of about 80% for the tile settings, this gives us a .MOV file size of about 250 to 300KB.

The image quality is good but not amazing when it's reduced to that 70% tile setting.

I guess thats my first question.

Also - when I output the image in SWF format I am generally coming out with a file size of anything up to a 1MB.
I'm looking at this http://gardengnomesoftware.com/forum/vi ... .php?t=570
and thinking WOW..what is the file size.

Any hep would be much appreciated.
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:43 am

Nikon CoolPix 5700 - 5mpx

you are required small upgrade (2 decisions - secondhand or new equipment)

1. search on eBay (or any res.) - other camera compatible FC-E9 - CP 8400 / 8700 / 8800 + lens ring adapter..

for exmpl. - http://cgi.ebay.com/ALMOST-NEW-NIKON-CO ... dZViewItem

they give output size under 8mpx, for spherical texture ~ 5000x2500

2. also save FE-ED - upgrade to new decisions - new camera Nikon CoolPix P5000 - 10mpx + agnos solutions http://www.agnos.com/catalogo.htm?v_lin ... ROTATORPM9

they give output size under 10mpx, for spherical texture ~ 6000x3000

_____

naturally quality will be on order above....

for example - http://humanoid.devalvr.com/autopanopro/puremov/

Nikon CP 8400 / FC-E9

_____

pS
or on gain more professional equipment ( ~ Nikon D200 + Sigma Fisheye lens + blah-blah-blah~)
Last edited by hum@no.id on Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
JoyBarclay
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 6:04 pm

Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:49 am

Thanks Hum@noid.

It looks like we need to upgrade alright.

I know someone who is going to let us try their Nikon D200 and a Sigma lens. Would this produce good quality photographs?
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:00 pm

I know someone who is going to let us try their Nikon D200 and a Sigma lens. Would this produce good quality photographs?

See also - This itself about itself will say
http://www.easypano.com/panorama-software-32_147.html
Locked