Add background image?

Specific Q&A about the new Flash export
Locked
craigm
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:59 pm

Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:13 am

Is it possible to add a background image to an object movie?

I have tried various ways using the blend, alpha, transparent but it does not seem to work.

I have tried with images that are transparent PNG and also ones with solid white background but none of the available options overlay my images onto a second jpg that I load as an additional sprite.

Thanks,

Craig
User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:41 pm

Hmm... I don't understand... Do you want to add two images to overlay? Which format do you use for the overlay? Do you want to use the alpha channel to blend the image?
MfG, Thomas
daleylay
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 6:50 pm

Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:18 am

Hi,

after read the forum, I still failed to create like example http://gardengnomesoftware.com/pano2qtv ... ?demo=pano
What I want is just create the semi transparent image at bottom right corner (which said "Created with Pano2QTVR"). So far I successful create solid ovelay image and total transparent overlay image, but how to create semi transparent overlay image ?

I also read foum http://gardengnomesoftware.com/forum/vi ... erlay#p197 :

[ by thomas on Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:03 pm
I opend the TIFF in PS, Clicked "Save as", unchecked alpha, unchecked layer. -> Ok -> Checked tranparency -> Ok.
Then I opened the file in Gimp (it looks the same as in PS), clicked "Save as" -> PNG. ]


if uncheck alpha, why we use alpha channel in PS at the first place ?

thanks for helping,

Daley.
User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:58 am

With Photoshop CS3 it should work fine with just saving the PNG. In older version of Photoshop the export for PNGs with alpha channel is hidden in the Help?!?!!?!????? menu. There is a menu command "Export for Web" or similar. I can check it now because I have already CS3 on all of my machines.
MfG, Thomas
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3506
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:29 pm

Save for Web - select png24 file format. This will permit saving translucent and transparent .png's. Png8 type seems not have transparent attributes.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
User avatar
Roy Reed
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:31 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:37 am

8bit PNGs can have single colour transparency (the same as GIFs) but not alpha channel transparency.
Locked