Combining Flash Movies

Specific Q&A about the new Flash export
Locked
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:24 pm

I need to combine a panorama.swf file onto/into another background.swf file.

I'll explain better:
I have the panorama.swf file from pano2qtvr/flashpack and I need it to be placed on the stage in FlashMX that has a larger background and then output a working combined.swf file.

Basically I wish to add a skin around a pre-existing panorama.swf

I think this needs to be done via an Action Script but I'm a newbie to Flash and would like some assistance. Tutorial would be very much appreciated.

Maybe it would be better to call the panorama.swf from a remote location via URL and have it sit on top of my skin via X and Y coordinates?

Any Flash heads willing to help?

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
User avatar
hum@no.id
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:00 pm

Hi smooth...

Already more and more again spoken - MX DON'T SUPPORT V8

Simple example - Adobe Illustrator v9 don't open *.ai files which saved in Illustrator CS.... and much other examples.... or Flash Pro 8 does not read the most new ActionScript 3.0 (Flash 9). This understand easy....

But support downwards there is...

To combine old and new formats, it is necessary in this case use Framework conception from major tools.

1. Uni Framework (In our event Format Flash 8 )
2. Affiliated any SWF files...

See example - This many will useful (e.g. who wants for instance to use overLogo)... User aka '360Texas' tried embed Logo instead of ControllerBar:)

http://cd.phpnet.us/flashvr1/

Into Framework this:

Code: Select all

loadMovieNum("logo.swf", 2); 
loadMovieNum("flash3dpano.swf", 1);
logo.swf - saved on v7:)

All simply and cool:)

enjoy:)
User avatar
marktold
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:35 pm

@smooth

This is how it would be done.

Why would be done? Because it will not work with the beta panos.

create your Skin
MySkin.fla and save as MySkin.swf

create your pano (while Beta simulate with just an image in a movie)
MyPano.fla and save as MyPano.swf



crate a new flash movie that puts it all together

MyStage.fla

in the first frame we need to put some code in (F9 should open window for code)



//loads the external skin from same folder
this.createEmptyMovieClip("mc_skin",2);
loadMovie("MySkin.swf", mc_skin);

//loads the external movie from same folder
this.createEmptyMovieClip("mc_pano",1);
loadMovie("MyPano.swf", mc_pano);

Thats about it

Once again. FlashPanos with Beta 2 will not work at the moment. But to get your tests going you can try the above.

Regards Markus
https://www.marktold.com
Design & Photography
we make you look good!
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3388
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:01 am

hmmm _:roll: guess I am gonna have to learn Flash !
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Thu Sep 14, 2006 7:25 am

Hi Guys,

Many thanks for the replies.

Beta 2 panorama movies do not work! This has been my problem......
Way too many hours scratching my head and watching more hair fall out!
I have had success with slideshows and thought I was going mad. Basically the the code Markus suggested is exactly what I was doing/trying. I didn't understand that the Beta 2 Panoramas wouldn't work in this way. When I did this it would be flashing.

The whole FlashMX vs Flash 8/9 is a whole other issue I will have to deal with.

Oh well, at least I'm not as Flash illiterate as I though I was. LOL

Again, many thanks for your efforts.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3388
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:52 pm

Hmmm well at least you have hair on your head!!!

I now use mine for a bottletop reflector to provide soft light.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
sayeg5
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:27 pm
Location: Chiapas, México
Contact:

Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:44 pm

Hi smoot, if you have to learn flash, why don't give a try to Director?, in director you can import background in flash and panorama.swf, drop them in the stage, give the properties you want and then publish to dcr, is working for me. http://www.tallerdg.com/prueba/prueba.htm

Sayeg5
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Thu Sep 14, 2006 6:22 pm

Hi Sayeg5,

Thank you for your suggestion but I need .swf output.
I like Shockwave and I have used Shockwave before but people simply don't have the plug-in installed.

I have what I need to do nutted out, I just have to wait for the Flash Pack to come out of Beta mode according to Markus.

Thanks again for your suggestion.

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
Locked