Seeking help with flash viewer

Specific Q&A about the new Flash export
Locked
andrew222
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:34 pm

Hi all,

Hoping to get some help with the flash viewer if possible?

I already use Pano2QTVR Pro for Windows to produce Quicktime panoramas and have now upgraded to Version 1.5.0beta9 to include the FlashPack demo.

Very impressed with the flash version but am having problems adding it to a webpage.

I'm using a script called vCard Pro version 3.2 which allows you to create greeting cards using the .swf files. (as well as jpg, .mov files). I created the .swf file panorama using Pano2QTVR and then uploaded it to the correct folder in the card script. It's straight forward and have done it with many other .swf files for the cards.

Problem is, when the swf panorama is chosen for a card and the preview page pops up so the user can fill in the email and message etc, the swf loads with the blue load bar and there a brief view of the panorama, but then it all goes dead and the load bar just flashes on and off.

Very odd and in theory it should work as it's just another swf to the card script.

Has anyone any ideas as to what could be causing this?

Thanks and I look forward to any replies.

Andrew
User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3393
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:47 pm

This is just to let you know that someone is reading your comment.

We do not use v-Card pro.. so can not help with this one.
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com
andrew222
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:24 pm

Thanks for the reply Dave.

I understand what you mean regarding the VCard Pro script as it has nothing to do with pano2qtvr but I was curious as to whether anyone else had tried to embed the completed swf file in a page and the result was just a flashing bar loader and no image?

I can embed Quicktime movies, jpg's, and any other swf files into the card pages....... it's just the pano2qtvr swf I seem to be having problems with :(

Very strange
User avatar
thomas
Chief Gnome
Posts: 2554
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:26 pm

The problem may be that the script tries to loop "the movie" but the panorama needs to be stop at the last frame to work correct. Normally this happens automatically but I guess the script overwrite this setting. Please search for something like loop and turn it of for the movie. Another thing may be that you need to switch lockroot on.
MfG, Thomas
andrew222
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:24 am

Thanks for that Thomas. You were certainly in the right area.

I found a couple of these in the template script.

<param name="LOOP" value="false" />

I gave up playing around with them and just deleted them both. The flash panorama now appears in all it's glory and looks pretty good on a greeting card.

Now I have to find a way of getting rid of the Pano2QTVR - Flash Trial that's plastered all over the image :lol:

Only kidding! Just about to track my credit card down and upgrade my pro version with the Flashpack. Really glad to see this available so we can all move away from having to show those horrible flat flash panoramas on websites.

All the best and Happy New Year to everyone.

Andrew
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:42 pm

G'day Andrew,

Would you mind sharing and example of this in action?

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
andrew222
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:24 pm

Hi James,

Sure can. I will have completed the basic layout of the card section by Friday evening (Canada) so will add the link here. It's not really Pano2QTVR related but it does show you another application using the Pano2QTVR swf file. Apologies to readers who don't agree :?

If your using the script from http://www.belchiorfoundry.com/

Under the file types in the admin section you'll find the .swf option and you can make changes to the template code.

I now have the following.........

****************************

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shoc ... n=7,0,19,0" [PARAM_WIDTH] [PARAM_HEIGHT]><param name="movie" value="[FILENAME]" /><param name="quality" value="high" /><embed quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/dow ... kwaveFlash" src="[FILENAME]" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" [PARAM_WIDTH] [PARAM_HEIGHT] pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashpl ... noembed><a href="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash">Get Macromedia Flash Player NOW!</a></noembed></embed></object>

****************************

There was previously a couple of <param name="LOOP" value="false" /> in there but they were causing the problem of the flash pano not loading properly.

The card script is excellent and is free. Perfect way to boost your site visit stats and convince those advertisers to sign up for the year.


Here's a question for you.... I noticed the Botanic Gardens Playground panorama on your website. Do you have any more pictures or panoramas of Orange. I was there quite a few years back and would love some reminders. Google Earth has now added the high res image of it all the way out past Lake Canobolas.

All the best

Andrew


http://www.virtualkingston.ca
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:43 pm

Thanks Andrew,

I have installed the vcard php to my server and will have a play with this.
I'm not totally wrapped in the whole layout and design but the concept would be useful for some customer projects.

All the defaults are installed at http://www.smooth360.com/ecards and I will muck with it when I'm not so pressed for time etc.

Orange hey! Hmm, you asked once before I seem to remember. Mate, nothing much out Orange way except some crappy low budget real estate panos. As I know you hanging to see some of your old town I will see what I can do in the coming weeks. (Though I might be shooting across to WA for some jobs) If you can settle for Bathurst I add one yesterday at http://www.smooth360.com/hey_charger

Again thanks for the heads up on vcard. (I still want to see your example!)

Regards, Smooth 8)

P.S: I have now tested it (some hours after this original post) and all seems to work fine! :D
Image
andrew222
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:55 pm

Glad to hear you got it going. It's a very good free card script.

Here's the link to the cards section I have set up. It's obviously in it's early stages but should look quite good once it's filled. I think I can make good use use of the pano2qtvr swf and very pleased with the program.

http://www.virtualkingston.ca/vkcards

I spent ages trying to change things around. Most of it was done by copying the template code into Dreamweaver, play with it visually and then paste the code back in the template. I'm still trying to get rid of the star rating that is shown above each image. Not too keen on that.

I have a Real Estate site also 3/4 done and want to use the swf's in there. The Realtors around here are extremely defensive so will probably turn it into a 'Sell your own home' site as an addon for Virtual Kingston

Yes, I do remember contacting you a while back. I think that was after I saw a link to your website either from a PTGui group or something related to Agnos. I ended up getting PTGui and the Agnos "MrotatorB" Mrotator for FC-E9. Using that until I can upgrade to a Nikon D80 with a Sigma lens. My Kingston website will hopefully fund that though :wink:

The negatives of my time in Orange, Lake & Mt Canobolas, Forbes, Griffith were accidentally destroyed while up in Queensland. I was gutted as I hate to lose any negatives. That was my backpacking and fruit picking year, which turned into 2 years.

I love the pano you did of the bike and Charger. I could quite happily drive around Canada in a Charger although would garage it during the snow and salt months. I always get the camera out if older cars are around.

http://www.virtualkingston.ca/chilifest ... _qt_fs.htm

It's a 1938 Chevrolet 2 door Sedan Master. Tried one in a Lostus Esprit Turbo but it was like sitting in a small box!

Happy New Year

Andrew
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:28 pm

Hi Andrew,

Well you are far further along than me! But I only stated last night LOL Your site is looking great. Pity there is not real help files with the scripts (Still what do you want for nothing?) What has happened to the website and sales etc? Maybe a redesign.....

That 38 Chevy looks nice and PLENTY of room to set up for a pano.

Anyway I have been playing around with the code and stumbling along, I did manage to deal with the "Click to Activate" problem with IE.

Here is my result.

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">startIeFix();</script><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0" [PARAM_WIDTH] [PARAM_HEIGHT]><param name="movie" value="[FILENAME]" /><param name="quality" value="high" /><embed quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" src="[FILENAME]" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" [PARAM_WIDTH] [PARAM_HEIGHT] pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"><noembed><a href="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash">Get Macromedia Flash Player NOW!</a></noembed></embed></object><!-- --><script type="text/javascript">endIeFix();</script>
You also need to add this to line 30 of the user_header.inc.php in the include directory.

From this:

Code: Select all

$page_header_include .= '<script src="./script.js" type="text/javascript">';
to this:

Code: Select all

$page_header_include .= '<script src="./script.js" type="text/javascript"></script><script type="text/javascript" src="http://yourdomain.com/ieupdate.js"></script>';
this is the ieupdate.js code

Code: Select all

var bo_ns_id = 0;function startIeFix(){
  if(isIE()){
    document.write('<div style="display: none;" id="bo_ns_id_' + bo_ns_id + '">');
  }
}
function endIeFix(){
  if(isIE()){
    document.write('</div>');
    var theObject = document.getElementById("bo_ns_id_" + bo_ns_id++);
    if(theObject.firstChild.data){
      theObject.firstChild.removeAttribute('data');
    }
    var theParams = theObject.getElementsByTagName("param");
    var theParamsLength = theParams.length;
    for (var j = 0; j < theParamsLength; j++) {
      if(theParams[j].name.toLowerCase() == 'flashvars'){
        var theFlashVars = theParams[j].value;
      }
    }
    var theInnnerHTML = theObject.innerHTML;
    var re = /<param name="FlashVars" value="">/ig;
    theInnnerHTML = theInnnerHTML.replace(re, "<param name='FlashVars' value='" + theFlashVars + "'>");
    theObject.outerHTML = theInnnerHTML;
  }
}
function isIE(){
  var strBrwsr = navigator.userAgent.toLowerCase();
  if(strBrwsr.indexOf("msie") > -1 && strBrwsr.indexOf("mac") < 0){
    return true;
  }else{
    return false;
  }
}
Now I need to find where he has hidden the colours in the code (hopefully in a CSS file). I will battle on even though I don't really have a need for it just yet. Still handy to have in my arsenal.

Happy New Year

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
andrew222
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:41 pm

Wow! you know your way around the code. That part normally goes straight over my head . I added the changes you made and no more IE abuse. Thanks for that.

Regarding the colours, there's some odds and ends in page_header but there's a big selection in page_header_include. These are under the edit template section. I guess that's the main css file.

If you want bigger smilies for the messages, (I've only added 4 at the moment) there's some here

http://www.tag-world.com/smilies.php?username=andrew

Andrew
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:38 am

Hi Andrew,

Mate, I know nothing! I'm just floundering around like you and having a bash. (Nothing ventured, nothing gained as they say.)

Thanks for the heads up on the colours, it will save me looking at every page trying to nut it out. Thanks also for the smilies, the originals are crap.

I will be watching your site with interest.

Happy New Year

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
smooth
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:55 pm

Andrew,

Here are those shots you have been wanting of Mount Canobolas and Lake Canobolas, Orange - New South Wales - Australia.

Quicktime Format (Fullscreen)
http://www.smooth360.com/2007/mount_canobolas
http://www.smooth360.com/2007/lake_canobolas
http://www.smooth360.com/2007/lake_canobolas_2

I hope it's how you remember it. Today was 32° (Celsius) smack bang in the middle of summer (pity it was a very cloudy day)

Flash ecards of the same will soon exist (my SQL server is down ATM) but as soon as it's back up they will be at http://www.smooth360.com/ecards

Regards, Smooth 8)
Image
andrew222
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:41 am

Hi Smooth,

Absolutely fantastic. Thanks very much for that :D

Very much how I remembered it as I was there for both the cherry and apple picking, and once just for a visit and collect mail. Had a tent in Lake Canobolas Campsite and walked up Mt Canobolas a total of 3 times on my days off. I like your text addition to the walks sign. I have a mate in London UK that will be happy to see these also.

I also like the pano The Australian Icon - The Shed.

It's going to be atleast 2-3 years before I get to go back again so these panoramas will keep me quiet until then :wink:

Thanks again and I'll take another good look tomorrow.

Andrew
Locked