Streetview image Size

Post Reply
User avatar
Svendus
Posts: 685
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:03 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:22 am

Hi Guys
accidentally we had lite dust the DSLR camera censor
and it was seen to much on the sky
so we decided to clean it up with the in painting tool in Affinity Photo
because it has 360 preview and editing
well done the 98 Megapixel images went a little big in MB 70-80 MB
and they did upload but did only display on our own index not on the clients place mark

even after 3 days they did not show up !
only one low resolution THETA S image shot on my 8,5 meter pole
so back in Pano2VR we did convert the images to JPEG (.jpg) 95%

Image

I think the images size must be under 50 MB 100 mega pixel to get approved directly

Image

we saved the project in Pano2VR and deleted the project om Google Street View
now we could upload the new smaller images with the same meta data

Image

Image

and now it is running on the clients place mark

Image

Regards Svendus
Last edited by Svendus on Tue Jun 06, 2017 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image Image
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10865
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:39 pm

Hi Svendus,
Were your original images TIFF or JPG?
Pano2VR uploads size 12000 x 6000px Equirec JPG by default which is what is recommended by Google.

I input 12508 x 6254 630MB TIF.
The uploaded image is 12000 x 6000 12.9 MB JPG.

So it should not matter if you edit your input image as Pano2VR remaps it before upload.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
Svendus
Posts: 685
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:03 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Tue Jun 06, 2017 7:15 pm

Yes you a right
my Settings are 14000 in Pano2VR
we resize the images in PTGui Pro
16000x8000 to 14000x7000 95% .Jpg 45-50 MB in size
and i find this is better than to let Pano2VR do the job.
Tiff files are to big in98 megapixel but THETA tiff up to 50 MB are uploaded

Image

Another thing we noticed are if You transfer the Copy rights on any image to your Client
you cannot change and overwrite any Meta Data on the Server.
Image Image
User avatar
Svendus
Posts: 685
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:03 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:16 pm

You cannot change The Default View or level the images when first uploaded to Street View without Deleting the project first Any change here will upload the images again and doublets are produced the first images are then not visible in the Pano2VR SV Browser
Regards Svendus
Image Image
User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 10865
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Mon Jun 12, 2017 10:34 pm

Hi Svendus,
Following your call this morning I have tried to reproduce this and can not.
I have tried moving map pins the changing location data, changing places and changing the default view.

Pano2VR would not upload a new image unless I deleted the original from Google first.
I know they have had problems, today I could not access my account and my Street View Browser in Pano2VR was blank as it count not connect to my uploaded panoramas. Iv just checked again and happy to say its all working so I can only guess it was something really odd going on with Google.
But as said I can not reproduce.
Can you give me a step by step on how you got the images duplicated.
Regards,
Hopki
Hopki
Garden Gnome Software Support
If you send an e-mail to support please send a link to the forum post for reference.
support@ggnome.com
https://ggnome.com/wiki/documentation/
User avatar
Svendus
Posts: 685
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:03 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:28 am

Thank You
The 18 images were placed and uploaded with no titles
this were done afterwards: some plackmarks were mowed the North were Checked on every image
Default view were checked, and sett we actually got the message that 18 images were not found like under a new Upload
we had waited one week to see if the earlier upload were functioning
because it were rater difficult to get the links working there.
But it must be a bug we noticed
that the images we uploaded from the ELMIA Wood 2017 in The SV app because we could not find the new place in Pano2VR
sometimes show up in duplet
Image Image
Post Reply