Complicated?

Everything concerning the Wordpress/Joomla/Drupal plugins
Post Reply
visual360media
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:22 pm

Complicated?

Post by visual360media » Tue May 05, 2015 9:55 pm

Wow! Logged on after many years, been registered user since 2008, and have seen many changes over the years. Not least the demise of flash. I still like to use pano2vr to create panos, its great for exporting a nadir to edit, but wow, is it getting more and more complicated? What options are we supposed to use? Do i still create the flash file? Or go straight to the html5 option? What do we upload? I am disappointed to see many un answered posts here from 2014. I am using wordpress, all i want to do is create one file, one pano, output it to be seen on multiple devices, on many screen sizes and resolutions. There are posts re the package file error, i,e a bug so do not use numbers. This has not been addressed. There are posts moaning about the ridiculous way this software puts files all over the place, surely we should create one folder, and all files go there? they dont, they get muddled with other projects. So please can i get some help? I need to upload one pano to show a client, on a wordpress site, to be available on all devices. No nodes, nothing. Easy? I would think so. But so far tonight i have error after error. Missing xml files, package not recognised etc etc

My latest error.. GGPKG incomplete, XML-File is missing!

So what is the package file packaging? Should it be all files, tiles, xml etc etc..?

Also the posts re the package file seem old. Is it all ok to use? When my client eventually gets acopy and if he i not using wordpress what do i send him?

Thanks. Sounds like a moan and to be honest, it is a bit. Taken 5 hours on this and got no where!
Kind regards,

John Goulding

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Complicated?

Post by Hopki » Wed May 06, 2015 5:28 pm

Hi John,
Pano2VR outputs to a single folder, by default its called output.
However the folder contains many files and folders depending on your output settings.

The best output by far will be HTML5, multi resolution which has the Flash fallback player selected by default.
When your ready to upload move the output folder out from the project, rename and upload to our server.

Outputting a GGPKG:
The first thing to do is to make sure your Wordpress site is ok, to do this download one of the test files from the CMS forum.
Upload to your site and can you see it?.

If you get problems at this stage then disable themes, plugins etc until you find the one causing the problem. To date in Wordpress most themes and plugins work ok, the only real problem Iv bumped into is Joomla and K2 articles.

If the test ggpkg works but yours do not then post your file.
Naming conventions is a bit of a problem so stick to letters at the beginning of the file name, this was down to the file name being used in a variable which can not start with numbers. Is this is a major sticking point?

To make sure your ggpkgs are responsive set the width to 100% and for the skin make sure you anchor correctly buttons. Make sure you don't have too many running a long the bottom so when its reduced in size they don't full off the edge of the window.

Can you drop me an e-mail at support@ggnome.com, Im showing an account for soft boot?
Regards,
Hopki (Martin)

visual360media
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:22 pm

Re: Complicated?

Post by visual360media » Wed May 06, 2015 6:21 pm

Thanks Martin for your reply. Am getting a little frustrated!

I have chosen the output you suggested, html5, mutli res, do i need to create flash files as well as you say fallback is on by default?

Your test files do not work on my site. I have disabled a couple fo plugins, not sure if my site will work if i de activate many more.

Can i ignore the plugin, add line of code to the page header and upload the ''output' folder? How do i add the output file to a site. Not sure if client using wordpress.
Do you add a line of code pointing to the js file ? Is there tutorial on adding all of this to a site? Wordpress or otherwise? Thanks.

I am getting 'This content requires HTML5/CSS3, WebGL, or Adobe Flash Player Version 9 or higher. as the error' when using your files.

To make it responsive you say make it 100% width? Where? In the ggpk setting? Anything else i need to add there? I am using simplex skin so should be responsive , yes?
Thanks fo your help.
Kind regards,

John Goulding

visual360media
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:22 pm

Re: Complicated?

Post by visual360media » Wed May 06, 2015 7:05 pm

Aplogies Martin, I will email support.
Thanks for your help. I wasnt sure if support was still here or not, looks like the forum is for us to help each other.
I used to be more active on here myself years ago but am a little busy lately.
If i do get my issue sorted, which i am sure i will i will post the answers here for others to see. Can help others when they search the forum.
Thanks again.
Kind regards,

John Goulding

NitromanX
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Complicated?

Post by NitromanX » Wed May 13, 2015 9:39 am

Hi Webworld360 !

Did you get the 'width at 100%' responsive issue sorted for ggpkg's embedded in Wordpress posts? If so, where do I set the width at 100% - Wordpress or Pano2VR?

At the moment i'm using standard size 640 x 480 pixels and this doesn't display correctly on smaller mobile devices like my iPhone. Would love to know your solution asap. :)

As a photographer myself, i can understand your frustration regarding the complexity of Pano2VR. I've been working with the software for about ten years and i've also seen it grow in size and features. However, please see this 'complexity' as a strength of Pano2VR as it now supports so many new features and better technology. It's the web that has got more complicated with the demise of Flash, introduction of HTML5, responsiveness for mobiles and more interactivity etc.

It takes a while to get to grips with Pano2VR ... But hang in there ! I love this GUI and software. The forum support is helpful but also Martin and the team have gone out of their way to assist me over the years so, personally, I can only priase Pano2VR. On the plus side ... it's not easy and that's teriffic (!!!) These days, everyone seems to be a photographer - so mastering these skills make it more difficult for non profesionals to encroach on my customers ! :) ;) :D
Professional photographer, videographer and 360 degree interactive panorama specialist.
http://www.rodedwards.com

NitromanX
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Complicated?

Post by NitromanX » Wed May 13, 2015 2:57 pm

Actually, I just heard back from the GG support team and you need to go to the Wordpress Admin > Plug Ins > GGPKG Import > Settings > Player Size - Width 100% and leave the Height at 480 (pixels not %). :)

This way the ggpkg displays correctly in both horizontal and vertical orientation and is also responsive in size.
Professional photographer, videographer and 360 degree interactive panorama specialist.
http://www.rodedwards.com

jmish
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:14 pm

Re: Complicated?

Post by jmish » Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:15 am

Hello

The suggested GGPKG WP plugin settings of 100% for the width work quite OK (with the 480px height) on a mobile device, from what I have been testing.

However some of my current websites are built so that that current panorama in a _desktop_ view becomes quite wide but not that high.

Sure, You can always go fullscreen. But it's not always desirable...

But I would hope there is a solution to this in the nearby future?

JPeacock
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:59 pm

Re: Complicated?

Post by JPeacock » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:06 pm

Hello all! I've just generated a tour package for a customer's wordpress template website.
We followed the wordpress plugin instructions and installed the wordpress plugin on their website, and then uploaded the outputted garden gnome software package to the wordpress site's media library. unfortunately in the wordpress plugin settings I am only able to set the tour window size in pixels and not as a percentage of the browser window. This means that when I then add the package to a post or a page, it's unable to respond to different sized browsers. It's either looking fine on phones, or weirdly undersized in a computer's browser. Does anyone know how to change it so I can express pano window size as percentage and not as pixels? Cheers! James

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Complicated?

Post by Hopki » Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:31 pm

Hi James,
In the plugin or page code you can set width to 100%.
You can not set the height but this is normally done by the Theme.
Regards,
Hopki

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests