Distance field component broken? [SOLVED]

Special forum to share and discuss skins for Pano2VR and Object2VR
Post Reply
Frankster69
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:54 pm

Distance field component broken? [SOLVED]

Post by Frankster69 » Mon Dec 09, 2019 4:44 am

Hello Hopi,

Unfortunately the distance component seems broken in the latest Pano2VR.

It is the one you created here: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=12399

If I add it, Google Maps turns white, the chevrons of the 3D navigation are gone and even the thumbnail button in the controller is gone. Everything that has to do with nodes is just gone. If I remove it all is back again, so it must be that thing?

Any idea why? It would be great to keep using it, but now it's not working.

kind regards,

Frank
Last edited by Frankster69 on Sun Dec 15, 2019 3:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9796
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: Distance field component broken?

Post by Hopki » Mon Dec 09, 2019 3:36 pm

Hi Frank,
I have just built a simple two-node project that has a map element set to show a Google map.
The arrow hotspots and the hotspots have the distance text box in the hotspot preview image.
This is working for me, can you send in your skin?
Regards,
Hopki

User avatar
Tony
Posts: 874
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:54 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Distance field component broken?

Post by Tony » Mon Dec 09, 2019 3:38 pm

Hi Franster69,

I just tried putting together a simple 3 node project using the distance component and it seems to be working fine.

distance-test.jpg
distance-test.jpg (743.76 KiB) Viewed 221 times

You can see the online project at https://p2vrtutorials.s3-ap-southeast-2 ... index.html

Are you modifying the component after you have added it to the skin or using it as is? I reached a point when I was modifying it that everything disappeared but then I went back and carefully made sure all the elements where in the correct place inside the hotspot.

Can you post your skin?

Tony
Tony Redhead | Panoramic Photographer | mobile: +61438501002 | website: http://tonyredhead.com - http://redsquare.com | roundme: http://round.me/@tonyredhead | instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tonyredhead/

Frankster69
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:54 pm

Re: Distance field component broken?

Post by Frankster69 » Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:17 am

Hi Tony, I think I haven't saved that, because it didn't work. I'll try again soon, but I have a very busy time atm with work, finishing a project and, uhm too much :)

The other night I thought I found a mention of distance somewhere in P2V, and I was under the impression it may be a built-in solution to display distance to nodes. But it was late and now I can't find it anymore.

Hopefully I can find some time after the weekend to try it again. Right now I'm focussing on getting the project done. It's in my sparetime between job and sleep so it doesn't go that fast.

regards, Frank

Frankster69
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:54 pm

Re: Distance field component broken?

Post by Frankster69 » Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:30 am

Hi Tony and Hopki,

Thanks for replying! I was trying to use a previously created distance component, an older custom coded one by you I think Hopki (see link in my original post).

I've now found that it is by now actually built into P2V :D :D :D It's in the Hotspot placeholder: $(hDm)

This works! It seems to me the old one was either interfering or just not working in v6 anymore. In any case, I've got it now, thanks! I've now got distance to node displayed just fine :)

regards, Frank

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests