How to pass a parameter to a NodeImage

Special forum to share and discuss skins for Pano2VR and Object2VR
Post Reply
MBoyteaux
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:32 am
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Contact:

How to pass a parameter to a NodeImage

Post by MBoyteaux » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:06 pm

Here's what I'd like to do, use a cloner to create a vertical list of nodes for a particular tag (easy enough) but use one NodeImage to display the image for each node the cloner builds. The reason for this is I'm trying to have the NodeImage in the same X & Y coordinate on the canvas for each node the cloner creates. If I make the NodeImage a child of the cloner, each image is moved in X or Y by the dimension of the cloner. I can't figure out a logic block to modify the node image position based on which node it is.

So my next idea was to use a single NodeImage and try to pass a parameter to it for the image and change it's scale or visibility based on a mouseOver action. However, I don't understand what parameter to pass from the nodes created by a cloner. I'm kinda stuck.

I built a klunky menu that does this, but I'm trying to rebuild it using the nested cloner in Version 6, which would be much easier to re-use than my custom built menu.

Here's an example of what I'm trying to duplicate, the sub menus show a node image when moused over:
https://www.hawkeyemedia.com/wp-content ... index.html

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: How to pass a parameter to a NodeImage

Post by Hopki » Wed Aug 21, 2019 11:31 pm

Hi,
Can you post the link to the tour with your menu?
Regards,
Hopki

User avatar
360Texas
Moderator
Posts: 3342
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:06 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Contact:

Re: How to pass a parameter to a NodeImage

Post by 360Texas » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:28 pm

You saw this one ? Or do you mean.... the new menu he wants to create ?

Here's an example of what I'm trying to duplicate, the sub menus show a node image when moused over:

https://www.hawkeyemedia.com/wp-content ... index.html

Hi Mark (Joined 2007), Welcome back to the forum. Your WordPress SITE is excellent!!

https://www.hawkeyemedia.com/

Dave still at 360Texas.com
Dave
Pano2VR Forum Global Moderator
Image
Visit 360texas.com

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: How to pass a parameter to a NodeImage

Post by Hopki » Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:43 pm

Hi,
I have had a play!

Please see LINK
Project:
MBoyteaux.zip
(210.07 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

How it works is under cloner 2 you will find a node image with the ID: thumb.
This is not seen in the menu but its job is to generate the thumbnail images which are then placed in the images folder in the output.
The naming convention is made up of the node images ID: thumb and the node of the panorama in the tour, node1, node2 etc.
So: thumb_node1.jpg, thumb_node2.jpg etc.

There is also an external image loader, this is what will display the thumbnails.
You will see the action in the text box: node_text:
Mouse Enter, Set Value, images/thumb_$(ud).jpg

The place holder is looking at the data in the User Data Description text field.

Closing the skin and looking at the project file you will see that under User Data, I have used the Edit Project User Data button, then used the place holder: $(y).
If you look at the documents page here: https://ggnome.com/doc/pano2vr/beta/placeholders-list/
You will see under File Paths $y. This picks up the node of the image, displays in the user data description text field as the node id.
I know it does not show it with the brackets, but it will ;-)

How I build the project was first put all the panoramas for each category in their own folders, catA, catB etc.
Opened Pano2VR and saved it to the project folder.
Then added the category folders, what this does is tag all the panoramas with the folders name.

Then using the Skin Configuration button just set up the categories using the tags.
So at the moment, you need to use the placeholder $(y) in the user data, we are looking at a way where you will not need to do this. Once done then we can look at making a component our of this so giving everyone yet another style of menu.
Regards,
Hopki

User avatar
Hopki
Gnome
Posts: 9446
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Layer de la Haye, Essex UK
Contact:

Re: How to pass a parameter to a NodeImage

Post by Hopki » Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:49 pm

@ MBoyteaux,
BTW this is a really nice project, amazing the devastation and how good the rebuild is.
Nice. 8)
Regards,
Hopki

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests